My First Torsade

G

GemGeek

Hi Everyone,

I'm almost done with the pearl & crystal/glass necklace that an artist friend commissioned. I'm purchasing the findings tonight, so these are unfinished, but you'll get the idea. First, I made different strands and show them separately.

I'll try to get some pics with more accurate color later.

Hope you like the pearls:)
Blaire

torsade not twisted.jpg

torsade close up.jpg

torsade 2.jpg

Very, very nice. Pearls are whites & natural pink, no ???? Love the diversity of shapes... Once torsade is made, how do you make it keep the shape ??? Mine always "unroll".....

Thanks Imanit. The colors are white, beige, tan, lavender and pink. They'll show better when I can take another photo.

Tonight, when I shop for the clasp, I'm looking for one that can't un-twist. So, a toggle clasp is definitely out of the question. If anyone has a suggestion, I'd love to hear it. I have zero experience with this type of necklace:)

Thanks,
Blaire

For a clasp I would think one that can hold multiple strands and keep them in place. Perhaps something along the lines of these types?

P1984FNB.jpg

P1988FNB.jpg

Fancy type:
P1126FSB.jpg

Yes, Mandy, those would work. Anything which anchors the twist. Multiple strands would need to be on opposing jump rings rather than corresponding.

There are also twister clasps which permit the wearer to twist the strand and lock it into place while wearing it. These are especially good for long single strands which are folded, clasped on one end, twisted, then clasped into place and worn.

Mandy and Panda, thanks for the help.