Luster treatments

P

Pauline

Before I start, I want to let you know I learn a lot by reading you! Thank you very much for all the useful information.
Here is my question. You are aware of the luster treatment of the pearls. Is it becoming to be something we will see on all FW pearls in the future? Is it going to be the norm?
I am working in Asia and I went to different pearl's markets. I am not an expert but I can see those markets offer a lot of pearls with luster enhancement. I was with some friends this weekend and they didn’t want to buy the not enhance one. Can you explain in more details what kind of treatment it is? This enhancement will last for a while… but how much time?
Pauline

This really depends on the treatments done to the pearls. Some are fine, and more or less universal, others are in the grey area. Do you know what treatments were done to the pearls of which you are referring?
If you are referring to a coating, this will not last forever and it really is not a good way to go.
Bleaching and polishing are fine, and it is nearly impossibly to find freshwater pearls that have not gone through at least this.
Heat treatment (common with Akoya pearls) is not a good treatment as this makes the nacre brittle and can lead to darkened pearls in the future.
Let me know if this makes sense!