Grandma's pearls

SheilaN

Hi all,
I've been lurking around this forum for a few days, but have decided to jump on in (-: The reason being that I inherited a string of Pearls from my Grandmother 30+ yrs ago and am interested in getting them appraised/certified and possibly selling them ( the house needs new roof, and as I am a farmer by trade, I rarely wear them...just often enough to keep the luster nice) They were valued by a jeweler in '99 for $2800.00, but I understand that now natural Pearls have gone up in value, and am looking for a more accurate evaluation...I figure that someone here could point me in the right direction (-:
What I have are a set of "42 9/9.5 Pearls, with a 14K clasp w/ 7mm pearl on it". Jeweler says they are " out of round, well matched, even color, high luster, lightly blemished, white w/rose" These were the pearls my Grandmother frequently wore herself, and she was a very keen collector of all things jewelry and a very good eye for quality. She took several trips to the Orient ( between the late 40's and the early 70's) and bought quite a bit of fine gold jewelry and also pearls in Hong Kong. I was told by mom ( also a jewelry maven...somehow I missed out on that gene!) that these pearls are natural, not cultured, but as I understand it, they would need to be x-rayed to verify that. Anyway, I'm interested in finding a value on them; even if I don't decide to sell them, I still should update the insurance on them. I can try to get pics if I can figure out how to load them ( I'm a bit techno-tarded!) I looked up the GAI labs in the US and of course, none are very close, and both are VERY expensive...cost would be over $500.00, so it would be good to get an idea from the experts here if they are Naturals, and if it's worth paying that sort of money to have them certified. Any input would be greatly appreciated!

SheilaN,