Golden south sea pearl?

Mavs84

Hello, I've been reading this forum for a few days now and I found the information very useful. I have been in China for the past few days and I bought this golden pearl which I've been told its a SS one.

I bought this from the Pearl City market in Nanjing road and I've read good reviews from clients who purchased from the store I bought this before. I believe that it's a real pearl as it passes the tooth test and the lady there offered to scrape it with the scissors and it passed that test too. The colour and the shades also seem real to me, but of course I'm by no means an expert.

I was wondering if you could please offer your opinion on this, whether it is a SS or a FW one that has been dyed. Its 13 mm and i paid around 215 USD for this (after a bit of bargaining which lasted about 30 mins or so). Sorry if the quality of pictures is not ideal.

image.jpg

image.jpg

image.jpg

image.jpg

That's real GSS, congratulation on the purchase, a good deal for 13mm pearl! However, scraping it with scissors? My first time hearing about it.... doesn't sound reliable though.

offered to scrape it with scissors??? no thanks!

It does look like a genuine GSS, good buy.

Scissors???
Blimey
in some parts of the world they whip out a lighter and play it over the item to show it isn't plastic (I think) but scissors?/That's a new technique. Is that where we're going wrong?

Many thanks for the replies everyone, really appreciate it.

Regarding the scissors, I'll keep this in mind now for next time. :) I assume the rationale behind it is that if it's a real pearl then it wouldn't be damaged by doing this.