Fell in love with this baroque pearl ring, tell me more about it? :)

topazera

Hello, generous pearl enthusiasts! I come seeking information. :) I rarely buy jewelry but I recently came across this ring and absolutely fell in love with it. Being so organic and free form, it feels so "alive" to me. This encounter got me interested in learning more about pearls in general and so I found the wealth of information here. I'm still a layman though so I was wondering if someone could tell me anything more about the pearl I have here? I just want to get to know my ring a bit! :D

It feels gritty when rubbed against other pearls. The shape is baroque: it's pretty round with a ridge and an arm coming off it. On the underside of the ridge is a dark dot of some kind which you can see in the one of the pictures of the ring on its side. The surface looks smooth (even under a loupe) except for one spot on the top that has a cluster of tiny dimples on the surface. The color is silver/grey, with overtones of pink and green that give it a very colorful, almost purple impression. The ring is about 2.7 cm long, 1.5 cm wide at it's widest and? I'm really am not sure how to measure a pearl, especially when it has all these appendages. :) It seems like maybe 8 mm to me (without the "arm") but all I can really say is between 8-10 mm. It weighs 6.1 grams. I also can't judge the overall quality but the luster seems better than either of the strands of (presumedly from reading these forums) akoya pearls I have from my grandmothers, I can see my reflection more clearly. The ring was thought to be .925 silver but I can't find any marks on the band so I'm skeptical. The band is uneven and has an extra blob of silver on the inside of the band that seems like it was added later.