Dyed black saltwater pearls?

Emmamae

Community member
Hi! I have been collecting pearls for the last 5 years. Purchasing mostly at thrift stores and flea markets. I have been educating myself on pearls with the help of this very forum. Your educated eye has helped me so much with understanding the basics of pearls. This is my first purchase of a colored pearl necklace and I have been reading through past posts on colored pearls and I am having a hard time identifying these. Any info on how you could tell the difference between dyed and natural cultured color pearls would be much appreciated. Thank you so much!
-Emma

B559E272-386D-415F-B814-7B4F80C78792.jpg
06667BAA-25C2-495F-B3AF-D1CE0DFB0957.jpg
A8492B88-B72B-454B-86AC-E617F2419452.jpg

Those are dyed freshwater pearls.

It isn't just one factor. After seeing many, one develops an eye for it. But some giveaways in your strand are:
-the eggy shapes
-the colors, which are more dark blue/purple than you would generally find in Tahitians
-the appearance of the color-- sometimes it has an "oil slick" sort of look
-Tahitian strands usually graduate a bit toward the clasp, with larger pearls in the center
-the overall small size (although there are also large dyed FWP out there, too.)

There are dyed akoya pearls (which are saltwater) but those would be round, due to having a bead nucleus, and blacker.

Thank you so much!! I can’t wait to find more and hopefully have a better idea of why I am looking at.

Part of knowing what the pearls are is having seen lots of other pearls where you definitely know what they are. Everything PD said is exactly what I see, too.