Chinese freshwater pearl dealers-sales down, quality up

suzannelowrie

I just returned from the June Hong Kong Gem and Jewelry show with an armfull of AAA round freshwater pearls. They are so so beautiful. Some of the strands are equal to the Akoya strands I saw in you-know-who's showroom in Tokyo. However, even if freshwater pearls are gorgeous and the best deal on the planet, sales by the top 5 dealers are down 50%. In the middle of the gem show that made me stop and think. I only like AAA round or better- so who will buy what I like? Do I buy pearls that I wouldn't wear or do I stick to the top of the line for my future on-line store? I have a PhD in Economics, but am I a pearl tourist or a store owner? I talked this over with the sales managers of the biggest pearl dealers- how could I continue to purchase the top of the line yet make the price affordable to the hard-up European and American middle class? We came up with three solutions: one of which was a no brainer for them. Buy more pearls and avoid the 14K and 18K clasps. If the strand is long enough, it doesn't need a clasp. Well, hey, everyone wins. I liked that solution a lot. More pearls! More pearls!

The Macro Cascades over the Micro in this case, all lux products will take a varied hit over the next few quarters world wide. In my honest opinion this would be the time you make a even more concerted effort into providing the absolute highest quality product without even thinking about cutting a single corner. As you have stated you are well versed in econ (nice to have another on here)...

For my company the quality associated with our brand is our lifeline.

In a ever changing market we as with nearly every other business are juggling with variables that have dramatics swings and flux's that cannot always be predicted.

What we can control is our quality and the quality that is associated with our brand name; not only within the business community but with our current and future customer base.