Buying tips in Shanghai

D

David

I am visiting Shanghai in just a few days and I'm interested in buying pearls. I have no direct experience with buying pearls but I've read a little. Does anyone have a recommendation for me in Shanghai? I understand there is a place called pearl city in the pedestrian mall where many pearl vendors are located. Is the quality good here? Are the prices fair? Is there a better place to go?

I'm actually staying in Hangzhou until Sept. 17. I hear there are purple pearls here. Are these naturally occuring? Does anyone have a contact in Hangzhou?

Many thanks,
Dave

David,

Shanghai is a good place to buy pearls. I see, however, that you have posted this question in the Akoya pearl forum. I would strongly suggest purchasing only freshwater pearls at any of these markets. You really need to be comfortable with Akoya pearls to get a good deal and not buy low-end goods. Shanghai is very near the freshwater pearling areas of China, so you can get good deals on these.
Purple pearls are available, and they may be natural but only if the color is a light lavender. If the pearls are deep purple, they are fancy-color dyed pearls (except for the very high-end Tahitian pearls). They do not naturally occur.

I would suggest this address is Shanghai, 558 Nanjing East Road. Also, I have a friend who owns a pearl company there. Her name is Li Ling Lin. She is honest and does not take tourists for a ride. You may reach her here:
(21) 63229299 or cell: (10) 67688008

Good luck!

Last edited:
David,

When you enter this Shanghai pearl store, you will be bombarded with every booth hawking their pearls. There are two or three floors and every booth is owned by an individual who has rented booth space.