A first foray into pearls...

Kithplana

For eight years now I've been making chainmaille jewelry, and for those eight years I've been trying to get over my aversion to using pearls. It's not that I have a problem with pearls; I've just had a problem with pairing satiny pearls against the high polish of the metals I usually work with. Whatever gemstone bead I use is still the star of the show in a maille piece, but I felt the delicious polished silver chain (mmm...) would compete too much with the pearls.

It didn't help that my only pearls were circled potatoes, which have never been to my taste.

So, in the interest of taking baby steps, I started out with pairing some (Swarovski imitation) pearls with titanium, which is naturally far less lustrous than silver... or the Swarovski pearls.

close up using daughter's $100 camera

I like how it came out, but I doubt I'll ever do it again. Titanium is a material that work hardens and snaps pretty easily, and creating those wrapped loops is a nightmare when variations in the hardness of the wire from inch to inch are determining your success...

I am working at learning how to pair pearls with shiny, shiny silver. I just haven't done enough experimentation yet. I may need to pick up some akoyas -- for research purposes, you know.

Beautiful work Kithplana! Welcome to PG and thanks for sharing your art. Acquiring pearls for research purposes is quite normal.... well, here anyway :)

Beautiful work Kithplana! Welcome to PG and thanks for sharing your art. Acquiring pearls for research purposes is quite normal.... well, here anyway :)

LOL, Marianne. I say this to all the newcomers. Slippery slope, Kithplana. But why akoyas? To me their nacre is thinner than the freshwaters. If chainmaille is anything like heavily oxidised silver, I happen to like the latter paired with textured pearls like druzy pearls.

Beautiful chainmaille btw.

Adeline,