Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Large blister pearl

Hi everybody,

In search for an enchancer for my newly produced long grey necklace I came across a brooche with a very big (30 mm) blister pearl.

I wonder if these pearls are salt-water or FW ones. Does anybody know from what sort of mollusk or oyster it may come?

And a more practical question: I don't think I keep it as a brooche, it has such a nice luster and colour that it is worse making a ring with this pearl. Any ideas about designs for large blister pearl rings?

Olga

Her are the photos (it is not that blue as on the picture, rather lavender-greyish):

Olga

This is dyed opercula.

Slraep

Comment

Sorry, I am not an expert - what is opercula? Is it the name of a mollusc?
      Olga

Comment

Oops, details, details, sorry it's operculum(plural: operculi) or osmena. A piece of specially secreted shell that is domed and blocks the entranceway to a gastropod's soft body tissue when that tissue is retracted. Pretty much like a trap door---keeps moisture in while keeping predators out. It must also have some other brilliant technological use for a gastropod that we humans are yet stupid about.

Slraep
        Last edited by Slraep; 02-07-2008, 08:43 PM.

Comment

It is also called turban snail shell or cat's eye.
          Jeremy Shepherd
          President and Founder
          PearlParadise.com, Inc.
          The PearlParadise.com YouTube Channel
          PearlParadise.com on Flickr
          PearlParadise.com on Facebook
          Some of My Favorite Pearly Finds on Instagram

Comment

I pretend I understand..
            But from what sort of shell it is? Oyster? Looks too big for a FW one but maybe I am wrong.

Although this is from a rgular Chinese shop, I would guess that this is a river one or not?
            Olga

Comment

Originally posted by olmander

I pretend I understand..