are freshwater pearls always tissue nucleated?

Hi Kaywal,

Yes, both. You will find photos of the bead-nucleated ones on various threads. I can't give specifics. Also many photos of the tissue nucleated.

Pattye
so many pearls, so little time

Under freshwaters--try thread FW Pearl Nucleation? also chinese & Japanese Freshwater photos. Of course there are more. This is just a start----

Pattye
so many pearls, so little time

I should have mentioned a piece of tissue is also inserted with the bead.

Hi Kaywal,

Welcome to the forum. :) I am not an expert, but shall give it a try. On the left column of Pearl-Guide, under Freshwater Pearls, there is a good description of tissue nucleated cultured freshwater pearls and bead nucleated Japanese freshwater pearls.

Not included in that article, but may be relevant, is that Chinese freshwater pearl farmers also insert flat discs of various shapes (round, star, petal) to culture coin pearls, star-shaped pearls, etc. After the first harvest of these disc-nucleated pearls, the mussels are sometimes inserted with beads to make pearls that tend to have tails. The bead material may be of controversial origin--but there is no final word yet. There is an excellent article in the "In the News" section of Pearl-Guide by Jeremy Shepherd and Doug Fiske on this and other topics.

You can tell the tissue nucleated pearls apart from the bead/disc nucleated one. The first type from China tends to be oval, baroque, or round. The second type tends to be coin, star, interesting shapes, or round with tail. The Japanese nucleated freshwater pearls have distinct colors and textures that set them apart from Chinese cultured freshwater pearls. Apparently it does get harder to distinguish for non-experts...

Cheers,
Pernula

Thank you Pernula!