technical opinions please: metal against pearl

B

boo

Okay, my 14kt findings arrived and I have been working on the YG necklace, but now I am beginning to fret about the spacers. While the edges are nicely rounded, they still lie up against the pearls and I am wondering if that will be a bad thing as far as abrasion is concerned, especially with the corrugation on the spacers. I could substitute the daisy spacers but they are only gold-filled, which I presume is even harder than the 14kt. I really like the look of the spacers, but if the gold will be harmful, in this case I may go for safety over looks. (The pearls will be knotted, but the spacers are larger than the knots) I have never worked with gold before - too expensive - so I would appreciate any input from more experienced beaders. If it were any other strand of pearls I wouldn't fret as much, but since these pearls are pretty much irreplaceable, I don't want anything unfortunate to happen to them.

Also, I am trying to decide which set of pearls to use for the piece that will dangle down the front. Do you prefer the bright rainbow colors or the metallic pastels? The pastels are a bit washed out against the paper towel, but they are very pretty against my skin. Whichever I do not use with the necklace I will probably use as a stand-alone pendant or enhancer of some sort.

Thanks for the help!

Attachments

• exotics_1928.jpg
    exotics_1928.jpg
    53 KB · Views: 50
  • spacers_1931.jpg
    spacers_1931.jpg
    67 KB · Views: 43
  • closeup_1932.jpg
    closeup_1932.jpg
    121 KB · Views: 49
What a great strand of pearls! They are gorgeous.

Now, about spacers. The corrugated ones seem a little harsh against the delicate color of the pearls...(my humble opinion, of course). I think I would prefer the daisy spacers. Are they for you or for sale? If for you, don't worry about the gf. Otherwise, maybe you can order some in 14k. (Try CGM...)