Pearl to carve

ericw

Hi,
I'm a new member, so I say Hello to anybody.
Frensh, I wich injure nobody reading me, because my english is so poor !
I'm an artist and want to carve, deeply, pearls. So, i'm looking for big sizes, not spherical but without bead, or the smallest as possible.
It seems that the real keshi pearls don't have bead, and I see a lot of them in big sizes on the chinese market, often named "keshi" or "keshi reborn pearls".
What about the bead in this kind of pearl, and what kind of pearl do you think to be right for my use ?
Thanks for your attention.
Sincerely

If you're looking for big pearls without nucleus (bead nucleus), you may want to use freshwater pearls.

Reborn pearls happen when a bead nucleus is inserted into a a mollusk and a cultured pearl grows and is removed. NO new bead is inserted. Then the mollusk is put back in the water and it happens to grow a new pearl in the pearl sac where the previous cultured pearl was. So the Reborn pearl is 100% nacre, but usually will not be round. It will be a baroque shape. A Reborn pearl can happen in any type of mollusk, freshwater or saltwater.

Thanks for your answers !
I have forgotten to specify that the baroque shape agree me.
The important for my work is to find thick and homogeneus mother-of- pearl, keshi pearls would be right but they are usally flat, and even without bead, I don't know if internal mother-of pearl have the same colour and lightning than the area.
However, Chinese market sell some up to 40mm, bigger, indeed, than standard size of keshi... I hope without bead...?

Welcome, Ericw,
Some keshi are hollow in the middle and may not have consistent nacre thickness. This could be a concern if you are carving deeply. I would recommend, as Pareltje also suggested, the tissue nucleated freshwater for carving, especially if you are beginning to experiment with your technique. If you decide to go with keshi, I recommend you look for the heavier ones (more nacre).

Hi Pattye,