Natural Pearls at Auction

BlackPearlDudeDC

Hello PG'rs- :)

I am new to the "Guide", so I am sorta lurking around getting a feel for the layout, relationships and communication styles of posters. Looking to see what is trending in conversations. All the while hoping along the way to find fellow Bay Area G.I.A Alumni that have entered the world of pearls for me to connect with or anyone else willing to have their brains picked at. (I have a few industry mentors, but one can never have enough knowledge/info. Gemology is continual state of learning). While my knowledge base is more around colored stones/diamonds, I have always found the pearl industry fascinating and completely different than the cold hard world of faceted gemstones.

I live near Bonhams in San Francisco (and have been to several Auction previews back when they auctioned jewelry at that location), Bonhams recently had a Natural pearl drop & diamond bow brooch up for Auction. It went for $17000, at 10.78mm (no idea what it was listed as in carats).
https://www.bonhams.com/auctions/22388/lot/4/

I've noticed over the years quite a few "Natural" Pearl jewelry items up at Auction. (Sometimes they move other times they are passed over.)
image.jpeg

On to my questions:
  • Does anyone here follow auction results?
  • Is there a preferred period of jewelry featuring natural pearls,
  • Are the natural saltwater pearls more preferred than natural freshwater pearls. (Texas, Tennessee are just two of several areas famous in the south for producing natural freshwater pearls, though it seems to be a localized interest)

I'm curious because I have a friend that was interested in the bow brooch, but she got cold feet for the most part, and this was one piece that went much higher than we expected.

Thanks for any insight/input

Best,
TL