Tahitian pearl size

Ithaki

Hi!

I am new to the pearl world, but have quickly become obsessed. I recently purchased a pair of Tahitian studs...my first pearl purchase as well as my first online purchase. I adore the overtone in real life (cannot capture it on camera) but I am somewhat disappointed by the size; they seem rather small.

Prior to buying I was looking for a larger size, however I could only find the exact overtone I wanted in the size ( 1mm smaller) that I finally ordered. I chose colour over size but now I am unsure of my choice.

It would be helpful if anyone had a moment to tell me what size they think the studs are, please. I will attach photos I took of them against a tape measure.

fullsizeoutput_753.jpgfullsizeoutput_753.jpgfullsizeoutput_753.jpg

Tahitian pearls are usually sold in a size range, for example, 9-10mm. Both of these pearls are in the 9-10mm range.
The left one is a little smaller than the right one, but both are within 9-10mm range.

(I used my own millimeter ruler to measure the photo of the pearls and of the ruler and then I used a ratio to calculate the size of the pearls in real life.)

Last edited:
Tahitian pearls are usually sold in a size range, for example, 9-10mm. Both of these pearls are in the 9-10mm range.
The left one is a little smaller than the right one, but both are within 9-10mm range.

(I used my own millimeter ruler to measure the photo of the pearls and of the ruler and then I used a ratio to calculate the size of the pearls in real life.)

Pearl Dreams-- you are the math whiz. Always impressive.

Thank you so very much!

I apologise for the multiple postings; I am pretty awful at technology and couldn't see my posts so I thought they hadn't gone up.

When I put them against the tape my eye told me they were 8mm. I looked through the internet to see if I could understand pearl size against ruler vs real life, but could only find information about measuring them with callipers, which I do not have.