Sourcing pearls on small scale for jewelry line

Fashion208

Hi all!

This is my first time posting and lemme say I have learned a great deal of information from all the post I have been reading.

I have a question and was wondering what would be the best move for me to make. I would like to start a small pearl jewlrey line to a niche market where profits would assist with providing scholarships to single mothers going to college. I dont need anything super high quality, just something decent quality for a middle class to upper middle class market. Since I would be funding this project on my own, is it best to source the pearls from Hong Kong at the fair since I would be purchasing on a small scale($10,000) budget, or would Shanghai suffice? I have been reading one needs a big budget when going to zhuji so I will stray away from that now. I am a flight attendant so getting to Asia wouldnt be a problem, I just want some advice on whats the best option for sourcing with a $10,000 budget where I can get decent quality and make a decent profit with markup. All help/advice would be appreciated. Thanks so much.

I used my first $10,000 pearl budget at the Hongqiao pearl market in Beijing, while working as a flight attendant.

I think the source location is not nearly as important as the market you're going to supply. You could do amazingly well at Hongqiao or get completely ripped off. That would happen in Shanghai or Zhuji too, and I can tell you from experience, there are a lot of hustlers.

Just go in knowing what you want to buy and what you want to pay and negotiate like crazy. Talk to a lot of different vendors and compare notes so you never settle. Always remember who you're buying for.

still remember when Jeremy showed us vdo's of his trips to China.