question about drill holes

hana

Hi all,

I'm new here on the forum, but I would like to ask a question.

I bought a new freshwater pearl necklace and on several of the pearls, at the site of the drill holes, several are double sized...meaning that the shape at the drill hole is like the shape of an "8". Is this typical? It seems unsightly to me, but this is my first purchase and I don't want to complain without reason.

Additionally, some of the pearls have visible drill holes totally separate from where the pearl is strung, as though they made a mistake and redid it. I find this unacceptable and have complained about it...it made me feel like I bought outlet quality pearls. There are just so many instances of it, that I feel that it can't possibly be an error.

Like I said, I am new at all this, and I would appreciate feedback from all you seasoned pearl lovers.

Thanks in advance

Hana

There is another reason why this may happen too, something we recently discovered ourselves.
If the pearls have been half-drilled, if they are loose-pearl earring quality, and then they are drilled through at a later time, they often miss the original hole. This is not an uncommon practice when extra earring material is needed.
We just discovered this problem with a new lot of our loose pearl grade that was half drilled and dyed. The drillers were not careful enough to line up the holes. Now we have no choice but to break up hundreds of strands to pull those mis-drilled pearls.

Drilled Pearls

Drilled Pearls

It does sound like you may have gotten some pearls drilled by a beginner. But there is a practice of redrilling the end pearls (1 - 3) to make their holes a little larger for the knotter to pull the string back through. But, it should just make the hole bigger, not a figure 8. Perhaps they aimed badly?

Cindy

Hi Jeremy
Now we have no choice but to break up hundreds of strands to pull those mis-drilled pearls.