Looking for general information about this strand

EatenByGiants

This strand belonged to my mother. I'm not exactly sure how old it is, but it must be 20+ years old, because I remember her having them when I was a kid. The pearls seem to be around 6mm. They feel gritty on my teeth, so they might be real, I guess? The clasp is stamped "BL 585." It has a pouch that reads "_______ Essence by Mikimoto II" (I can't make out what the first word says because I have the dumb). I have a general idea of Mikimoto from google, but I'm not sure what Mikimoto II means. Any info about them in general would be cool. Thanks in advance!

20171005_182131.jpg20171005_181733.jpg20171005_181857.jpg20171005_182148.jpg

They're cultured akoya pearls, and 585 is 14K gold.

I'm no expert on Mikimoto and their off-brand labels but perhaps someone else will be able to comment on that.

Edit: Found something! The first word is "Cultured".
https://queenmayjewelry.com/product...-opera-length-6-5mm-14k-pearl-strand-necklace

I'm wondering if that is the original clasp, or whether the clasp was changed.
And also whether that is the strand that belonged with that pouch. Did your mother have other strands?

Last edited:
Honestly, I have no idea if my mother had other strands. This is the only one I ever remember her having, and the only one that was in her jewelry box. She wasn't big on jewelry, so it seems unlikely that she had other strands, but I can't know that for sure. Thank you for the link though! It really bugged me that I couldn't figure out what that first word was

If you think you would like to wear them, I urge you to give them a bath (bottled water and mild soap) wipe them clean with a soft cloth (including around the drill hole where grime accumulates), and restring them. Silk becomes weak over time and with exposure to skin oils etc. and can break-- it would be a shame to lose them.