I would appreciate any information on sustainably cultured freshwater pearls

Laura.k

Hello everyone!

I'm a design student and a small scale jewellery business owner working on my Bachelor's thesis. In my thesis I'm examining the ethical and sustainability issues concerning the cultivation of freshwater pearls. Also as a part of my thesis I'm seeking the market for sustainable options when it comes to buying freshwater pearls as a jewellery maker.

To my understanding the ecological stress concerning the cultivation of freshwater pearls is much larger than it is with saltwater pearls. As freshwater pearls are very popular in jewellery at the moment this is obviously problematic. Consumers are very aware novadays and seek for sustainable options, but to my understanding this is very hard in the case of freshwater pearls. I also believe many jewellery makers including myself would appreciate the information on the origin and ethical aspects of the pearls they use, but this information seems to be almost impossible to find.

I would be grateful for any information, studies or articles on sustainably produced freshwater pearls. Also discussion on whether this kind of freshwater pearls exist is valuable information for me. Please share your knowledge! :)

Hello Laura.k and welcome to our pearl loving forum :)

Some years ago, I worked with Columbia GemHouse in their "Fair Trade Gems" initiative and was also a part of the Tiffany's "Sustainable Pearls" initiative. At those moments there was the discussion about freshwater pearls and the problem was always the same: the way freshwater pearls are managed. For them it is just a product, a massively produced one. There is no interest in keeping "sustainable pearls" apart or separate...it all just goes down into one huge pile of pearls and then sent off for sorting, grading, processing, etc. This is not their way.