Newbie in pearls urgently need some advise

Crazy_Jen

Dear All,

I'm a complete newbie in pearls but I have recently bought a pair of pearls online (I know this is crazy n stupid and I have never bought jewelry online before) after loosing 2 pairs of pearl earrings on the same night I was very desperate to buy another pair.

The website (www.absolutepearls.co.uk) seemed very genuine, so I bought a pair of Akoya pear earrings with the below descriptions. However, when I received them I tested if the pearls were genuine by rubbing them against each other, they were quite smooth. I started to worry that they might be fake so I emailed the seller that I'd like to return them yet stressed that I had not worn them at all but got rejected. They advised that since the earrings are pierced earrings once the package is opened they cannot be returned. I knew they had strict return policy but my dilemma was if I don't open the package how I'd know if they were real or not since the earrings were packed separately in the clear bag.

Could anyone advise me what I should do now and any other simple way for dummy like me to know :confused:if the pearls are real? Is the top grading pearls are supposed to be smoother than less grading ones? These earrings are not cheap so I hope they turn out to be real if I can't return them!! :(

Please advise!!!

Regards,
Crazy Jen

http://www.absolutepearls.co.uk

''Akoya Pearl Earrings
7.5-8mm Round Pearls
18K White Gold, Very High Lustre

Pearl colour: White
Fittings: 18K White Gold 'Plate' Butterfly Studs
Pearl size: 7.5-8mm
Pearl origin: Chinese Akoya Cultured Saltwater
Pearl Overtone: Silver
Pearl shape: Round
Type: Pearl Stud Earrings 18K White Gold Heavy Duty Fittings
Pearl lustre: Very High
Pearl surface: Excellent
Gold mark: 750 or 18K
Chinese Pearl Grade: AAA