I need help buying Tahitian Pearls.

PearlLover26

Hi there. I am just getting into buying pearls to add to my collection, or to make with jewelry. I heard about cultured Tahitian pearls, and I see many that are anywhere from $40-$200 for a nice size and loose. I am looking to purchase an 11mm round (not near round) peacock color, with grade AA or higher. I have found a seller online who states they sell them at wholesale prices. However, I am not huge on shopping online, but I can't seem to find any where I live. The one I am looking at is exactly how I like it to be. It is 11mm, grade AA1, dark body with multicolor overtones, undrilled and its only $45. I am not sure if that seems to good to be true, after all I see them go for much higher prices. Does this seem real? I am not sure if I am allowed to post a link, but I will anyway of the sellers page. Can anyone check it out and give me advice? Thank you.

https://www.etsy.com/listing/246862...search_query=tahitian pearl&ref=sr_gallery_17

So are they a legit company to buy from? I am looking at an 11mm round, AA1 quality, dark body with multicolor overtones for $45. Im curious to know if these are n fact cultured tahitian pearls. Also they do state that they are not treated in anyway. Is this also true? I am new to buying pearls, and I would love a nice size Tahitian to start off my collection.

It is a legitimate company. However, in addition to selling loose and stranded pearls, they also sell canned pearls with oysters that have a freshwater pearl inserted. (nasty practice). The loose pearls you are considering are a lot. you tell them the size you want and then they pick a pearl that size. You really don't know Which pearl you are getting.