Gluing Pearls

A

aprettyrock

Hi!

I read the other thread where the recommendation to glue pearls with Vigor epoxy was made, but I wanted to get a little more information on gluing pearls.

If I want to string pearls onto wire, but need them to stay in a certain position once I'm done manipulating the wire, would you still recommend the use of Vigor inbetween the pearls (to adhere one to another while on the wire)? Or is Vigor the type of glue that will become very stiff, not allowing me to mold the wire into the shape I need with the pearls on it?

I'm a total newb when it comes to pearls. Any answer would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!
Yazmin

Yazmin,

Welcome!!!! I am sorry I may not be much help with your Glue question,
I have an Akoya Ring that Needs repairing.

However what are you making that requires pearls to be string on a wire???

I personally would not use pearls and wire becasue of the pearls rubbing against each other ruining the Nacre... I have odd fears that way!!!!

I am curious to hear what others have to say...... on the subject of Pearls and wire........?????

Ashby

Satine De La Courcel said:
Yazmin,

Welcome!!!!

Thanks Ashby!

However what are you making that requires pearls to be string on a wire???

I personally would not use pearls and wire becasue of the pearls rubbing against each other ruining the Nacre... I have odd fears that way!!!!

I'm making a pair of earrings with top-drilled pearls. I would worry about the nacre as well, but my thinking was that since these pearls will be dangling from the ear (and not getting agitated as they do while worn as a necklace or a bracelet), the nacre wouldn't be ruined.

If I'm wrong, someone please correct me. :)

I am curious to hear what others have to say...... on the subject of Pearls and wire........?????

Me as well!

Thanks!

Yazmin

Vigor

Vigor