Are these real south sea pearls? Please help

Emeco1

442E0BF4-F523-4C8E-BC17-5434AA1AB857.jpg

Hello, everyone!

I would like to seek your help to know if this pair of earrings are real south sea pearls? 10mm in stainless setting . I took pictures beside my fake pearls (gold and bigger). I has wee bits of “fish bites” The seller rate it AAA luster quality.
Am I wrong? I’m very new at this. I did rub it and it feels gritty compare to the fake pair. However I think this is just CFWP and not real South Sea Pearls =(
Thank you in advance for your help! Bonjour🍏🌸

Attachments

• 2FBDCE15-4E0C-4711-A2F9-238A0FE6F30C.jpg
    2FBDCE15-4E0C-4711-A2F9-238A0FE6F30C.jpg
    86.8 KB · Views: 45
  • C6FF78F5-DDDB-45CD-A18C-80BBD87EC94F.jpg
    C6FF78F5-DDDB-45CD-A18C-80BBD87EC94F.jpg
    83 KB · Views: 42
Now that freshwater pearls are being grafted with bead nucleuses it is harder to tell --especially from photos-- whether any given pearls are FW or SS.

A few questions that may help you come to your own conclusions:

• Did you pay SS prices for them, or FW prices? SSP are significantly more rare, and therefore more expensive than FWP. A vendor selling SSP at FW prices would lose money. (Unfortunately that doesn't stop a dishonest seller from selling FW at SS prices.)

• What else does the seller sell as SSP? If they are selling pink or lavender colored pearls (which can only be FWP) as SSP, then it is likely yours are also FWP and that is a dishonest seller.

• Is this in the Philippines? I don't understand valuable SSP being set in cheap stainless steel settings, but we recently had a poster from the Philippines say that stainless steel settings were common. Do you ever see SSP set in stainless steel in proper jewelry shops? If not, then I would question why your studs are set in stainless steel.

Last edited:
5C73A6F7-5879-4AA1-BD90-B67576609C6C.jpg

Hello, Pearl... Firstly, thank you for your response! ��