what color background to display pearls

cc811

I have a question in regards to what color background is optimal in displaying pearls? Especially in a retail, do you present the pearls on a white cloth or black cloth?

While i worked in jewelery retail, i was taught to always show the pearls on white cloth to the customer as it brings out the true color of the pearls the best. However recently i heard the opposite, that black makes the pearls stand out and white washes out the pearls, making them less appealing.

If any of the professional pearl merchants like to share their view on this, that would be great! Thanks

I'm not a professional pearl merchant but just from putting various pearls of mine on different color backgrounds it's very clear to me that they look best against a white background, fwiw!

Great question!

We normally show pearls on white background. It's a combination of showing the product best overall vs. total online experience.

Having said that, some of our partners show them on gray/shaded backgrounds, and it has not hurt their performance.

I think in the end it's the quality of the photography that matters most... e.g. a lousy picture on white is worse than a great picture on black... a 20 megapixel image vs. a 12 megapizel image is better... regardless of the background. Right now reshooting a lot of product at higher resolutions/sizes is a priority for us. I'm confident that doing so - regardless of background - will result in better "reality" based imagery/shopping experience for the customer.

FWIW, my own personal preference is black, or dark red... e.g. darker is better. I think it provides best contrast and shows off pearls to best advantage. But given that I see pearls shown overwhelmingly on white background, I have to say my personal preference does not seem to predominate...