Raymond Yard Natural Pearl Necklace

Alison

Hello all,

I am new to this board, at the suggestion of a current member. Being a natural pearl enthusiast can be a lonely existence, so it is great to find others! I collect, buy and sell antique jewelry, and discovered natural pearls several years ago. This is more than a hobby but less than a living for me; I am a self-employed data analyst in real life.

The learning curve for natural pearls is brutal & never-ending, but I will say that I have gotten pretty good at spotting them. This post is about my best find so far, a natural pearl necklace from the very famous Raymond C. Yard. And YES, it is for sale! It needs to go to a home where it will be suitably appreciated.

This is my first time posting to a forum like this, and I am attaching three jpgs. I assume you can click on them to see the photos. I had to cut them down a lot to fit the forum limitations.

Here are the specs from the certificate (EGL US51259201P; unfortunately they don't put the pearl certs online) and some background.

Graduated natural saltwater pearl necklace; 77 pearls, 3.8 to 6.9mm (the graduation is not steep, a lot around 5mm); length ~17.5"

Pearls are ROUND, and WHITE with PINK OVERTONE!! (I hope someone out there appreciates how rare this is!)

Clasp is platinum, natural half pearl, OEC diamonds, natural unheated Burmese rubies -- no it's not the original Yard clasp. I bought the necklace from the descendant of the original owner, and the Yard clasp was lost or broken decades ago. It matched the Yard ring also bought in the 1920s, a half-pearl surrounded by diamonds (that was not for sale). The clasp shown here is from my collection. Necklace comes with original Yard blue leather/chamois folder.

Since these photos were taken, the necklace was restrung. So if the thread looks dirty, don't let it bother you.