Pearl-Guide.com - Cultured Pearl information and Pearl Forums

Google Custom Search
Pearl-Guide.com
The Forum
About Us
News and Events
Cultured Pearls
Cultured Pearls
Saltwater Pearls
Freshwater Pearls
Akoya Pearls
Tahitian Pearls
South Sea Pearls
Cortez Pearls
Keshi Pearls
Mabe Pearls
Natural Pearls
Natural Pearls
Conch Pearls
Melo Melo Pearls
Abalone Pearls
Scallop Pearls
Pearls in History
History of Pearls
Pearl History Timeline
Famous Pearls
Kokichi Mikimoto
Pearls and Medicine
Pearls in Myth
Pearl Cultivation
Pearl Producing Mollusks
Pearl Farming
Pearl Nucleus
Pearl Harvest
Pearl Treatments
Pearl Care & Grading
The Pearl Necklace
Caring for Pearls
Grading Pearls
Pearl-Guide FAQ
Glossary of Terms
Forum Rules and Policies
Contact Us

Lisa Pearls (LisaPearls.com) Rip-off

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 01-11-2008, 05:05 PM
jshepherd's Avatar
jshepherd jshepherd is offline
Super Moderator
Senior Pearl-Guide.com Pearl Expert
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Santa Monica, CA
Posts: 2,524
A P-G member just sent me a link to this new pearl Web site yesterday. It is a company in Shanghai called Lisa Pearls. It appears to be one of the many 'booth' sellers at the Pearl City market. Their new Web site is LisaPearls.com.

This is quite brazen. I have not seen anything this bad since Aloha Pearls in Hawaii copied our site several years ago. So far Lisa Pearls has ignored our emails which is not surprising. We now have no choice but to file DMCA reports with Google, Yahoo and MSN to have the site removed from all search results.

It really is unbelievable...
__________________
Jeremy Shepherd
President and Founder
PearlParadise.com, Inc.
The PearlParadise.com Channel
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiGoogle Bookmark this Post!Share on FacebookStumble this Post!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 01-11-2008, 05:22 PM
jshepherd's Avatar
jshepherd jshepherd is offline
Super Moderator
Senior Pearl-Guide.com Pearl Expert
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Santa Monica, CA
Posts: 2,524
This is actually pretty funny.
I am sure many of you have seen the Chinese 'gem lab' appraisals that look so official on eBay. Well this seller has one too. Imagine that. But It seems really strange that a gem lab in China would steal a photo from our Web site as well.

http://www.lisapearls.com/Qualityimg.html

http://www.pearlparadise.com/qualitypearls.html
__________________
Jeremy Shepherd
President and Founder
PearlParadise.com, Inc.
The PearlParadise.com Channel
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiGoogle Bookmark this Post!Share on FacebookStumble this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 01-11-2008, 05:27 PM
boo's Avatar
boo boo is offline
First-graft Pearl
Senior Guide Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: central Indiana
Posts: 353
Not to make light of their blatant and annoying rip-off, but I have to admit I chuckled when I saw that "Need Help? Chat with Us Live" became "Need Help? leave a massage!".
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiGoogle Bookmark this Post!Share on FacebookStumble this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 01-11-2008, 05:48 PM
AnnaDK AnnaDK is offline
Young Spat
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Santa Monica, CA
Posts: 19
Send a message via AIM to AnnaDK
I thought that the "Free" Monthly Special was pretty amusing myself. Wouldn't that classify as a "free gift?"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiGoogle Bookmark this Post!Share on FacebookStumble this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 01-11-2008, 05:54 PM
Pearl_dreams's Avatar
Pearl_dreams Pearl_dreams is offline
Second-graft Pearl
Senior Pearl-Guide.com Pearl Expert
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 864
This is their definition of "free", it seems:

"In this month, the necklace free for you if you order the products over than 1000.00 RMB."

NOT rushing out to take that offer....
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiGoogle Bookmark this Post!Share on FacebookStumble this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 01-11-2008, 08:09 PM
Raisondetre's Avatar
Raisondetre Raisondetre is offline
Second-graft Pearl
Senior Guide Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 753
That site amuses me to no end. Did they seriously think you wouldn't notice? Not buying from them when I go there in March, for sure.
__________________
Definitely going to HKIJS 2009.

Upset about getting two left shoes in the mail ...
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiGoogle Bookmark this Post!Share on FacebookStumble this Post!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:45 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.1.0

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18