What does this tell me?

ifutzwithfire

This is from a batch of cheap FWP. I knew they were cheap, I knew what that meant, and I got what I paid for- which to be fair included quite a few pearls that are quite nice and lustrous, interesting colors which will make a nice piece. This is one of the lesser ones. What I’m wondering about is that sharp transition from one color to another- it almost looks like the lighter color was there and then the golden tone was layered over it and then partially flaked off- but the line is just the color, the nacre isn’t flaking. I can’t feel an edge there with my nail, my mouth, or a blade- I have a few where I can find an edge, and that’s a distinctly different thing.

So what does this tell me? It’s a cheap low-grade pearl, that much I figured out, but I’m trying to understand exactly what *makes* it that. Is it a normal phenomenon for colors to change sharply like this, is it a characteristic of dyeing or some other process, or..? I’m only beginning to learn, that much is probably obvious. Understanding what makes junk junk also helps me understand why the good stuff is the good stuff. I appreciate anyone willing to have patience with me and help me get my head around the basics.
IMG_7014.jpeg

The mussel, and thus the pearl sac, could have been having a bad time (stressed, sick, famine, etc) and the secretion of nacre was mixed in with that of periostracum, thus you end up with pearls mixed in with these protein spots.

Not a science explanation, which Douglas is much more qualified to answer ... but I've heard this sometimes referred to as "pond slime" and it can be iridescent, gilded and beautiful ... at least to some of us :)

Not a science explanation, which Douglas is much more qualified to answer ... but I've heard this sometimes referred to as "pond slime" and it can be iridescent, gilded and beautiful ... at least to some of us :)
It does look gilded, or maybe more accurately bronzed!