Old Lady Needs Help

icecheermom

The "pearls" I have now are from the costume jewelry section of a department store. I bought them for job interviews back in the '80s. I think it is time for some real ones , but I am a little lost about what I want in a strand of pearls.
I am in my 50s and 5'7" tall. I wear a size 10 to 12. I mention this because I am older and not petite and feel that might factor into the decision about what size pearls would look best on me.
Can anyone make suggestions about what size pearls I should be considering? I kind of have my eye on some Freshdama ones in white 18 in long. I cannot afford the Akoya ones. Would this be a good choice ? Are there others to consider? What size?
Any help you can give me is appreciated. I am a complete newbie on this subject though I have looked around this forum a bit.

I'm in my 50's, 5.7, size 8...... And I wear ALL kind of pearls. Sometimes I feel like having on one 6mm 16" strand, sometimes I put on six ot them....sometimes I wear 14-16mm klonks.
For our age I think the most versatile is 8-10mm range. As a basic strand nothing beats Freshadamas. Mine are 9-10mm and I love them.
buy strand that you love.... Does not matter color or size. If you love it, you will wear it!

oh... And I resent you saying that being in the 50's we are old!!!. This is the time when real fun starts!!! Old is 85...... We are just...not so young anymore...LoL....

I'm 50 and 5'7" too. Maybe we should start a club. :) I am pretty thin but still prefer 8mm or larger. And when they list a size range, in my experience the real size is usually the smaller number. So 8mm would be 8.0-8.5mm or 8-9mm, not 7.5-8.0mm or 7-8mm.

Personally, I would get a 24" inch strand even if that meant going down a grade to AAA. I don't find shorter strands flattering, they seem to draw the eye straight to the aging signs on the upper chest and neck.