i'm so excited

trulyviolet

i just ordered beaders secret and needles to start learning to knot!!!!!!!!!!!!

It's rather addicting. I keep changing the lengths and clasps on my pearls all the time.

And then there's the colors! It's amazing how just changing the colors of the knots changes the look of the final necklace or bracelet.

i'm very excited..
(although it looks like my husband has given me some sort of plague.. he brought home from work, so i better be better when that thread gets here)
i've got to get clasps and now i want to 'buy all the pearls'
i think it's going to be a good 'take a break from the easel' project

I just started learning to knot, too, and it's totally addictive! I refuse to show my first rope, because it's really bad. I'm going to practice some more on glass pearls before I redo it.

I just started learning to knot, too, and it's totally addictive! I refuse to show my first rope, because it's really bad. I'm going to practice some more on glass pearls before I redo it.

well i'll tell you what, when i get started, i'll show you mine if you show me yours
everyone has to start somewhere no?

Good luck, and have fun!

DK :)

Well don't be discouraged with your knotting...I'm knotting a necklace that is needed tomorrow..and almost finished...and I don't like my knots. They are very large pearls and I seem to have loose knots. Granted it's been about 5 months since I knotted pearls but still...how annoying ! I'm going to have to start all over ... two pearls from the end.

How frustrating, Katbran!

I think sometimes people get loose knots because they are not sure how hard they can tug on the thread. No one wants to break a thread mid-strand and have to start over. Pattye's Serafil or Beader's Secret is 12# test, but what does that mean, really? How hard can you tug?

The only way to find out is to actually try to break a piece of thread on purpose.