Hi, Newbie here with a Pearl Question

Bron357

Hi, I inherited a large pair of white pearls (12mm approx) from my grandma a number of years ago. I've never worn them because they are huge and too heavy for my small ear lobes. They are what you call "heavily spotted" and though set in 18ct gold I figured they were worth like $50.
Anyway, trying to find out more information I came across this site. Yay!
I tried candling them and low and behold I can see many many circles inside the pearls and no "solid centre". Maybe this means they are natural, from the sea, pearls? Maybe this is why they were worth setting in 18ct gold ?
Anyway, my question is, is it worth the time, effort and expense to have them x rayed and certified? I'm guessing that if they are real, natural, found in the sea pearls they are special even if they are rather imperfect.
Thoughts anyone, please.
Many thanks.

Hi and welcome to Pearl-Guide!

Can you post a photo of the earrings, taken against a white background, in focus, without flash?

I don't think you can make inferences about the pearls being naturals by the settings. My grandmother had 18K gold earrings that turned out to be glass instead of aquamarines, as she had been led to believe. :rolleyes: I'm not saying your pearls are imitations-- they could be cultured SSP.

If there is any way to catch a photo of what you see when candling, that would also be great.

Last edited:
Hi, thanks. Just trying to work out how to attach photos. BTW I just used my phone in the kitchen so they are pretty ordinary and don't quite capture what I can see with my own eyes but you get the idea I think.
IMG_2084.jpgIMG_2082.jpg

I believe that is a cultured pearl-- please read this thread and look at the photos, which are rather like yours (especially post 11):

Cool...horizontal lines/ banding like that are from the shell nucleus they used to culture the pearl.