Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Wedding Pearl Jewelery - Know Very Little

One of my Aunts has offered to make pearls for me for my wedding; she does this professionally. My Aunt is very good at stringing pearls, but she asked me what my preference is to give her some ideas; although I am an architect and design is important to me, I don't know the first thing about pearls. I don't have an incredible amount of money and I am living in Washington DC (if that has any implications).

I have attached some photos of my wedding dress as well as my bridesmaids dresses. I have an outgoing personality and love being different, but classy. The wedding style we are going for are vintage/modern. I like traditions and vintage styles, but with a modern twist.

Any thoughts are welcome regarding: pearl type, size, necklace design, pearl accessories (i.e. have all compoents earings, necklace, and bracelet?).

Thanks!
    Jakki
    Attached Images Attached Images     

Pearl Scholar Senior Pearl-Guide.com Pearl Expert pattye's Avatar

Jakki, What an amazing bride you will be in this dress!!!

Oh, what a fun project! I'm sure you'll be flooded with ideas here! What an amazing dress, just gorgeous and lovely ones for the bridesmaids also. Truly a wonderful gift from your aunt!

My first thought for pearl type was the new bead nucleated and large Chinese Kasumi like pearls in white/ivory. They have a rippled surface, soft coloring, often iridescent, and can be knotted up in traditional fashion. Some pearls are more rippled than these, some less. Sizes are found in approx 10mm and up. They are much less expensive than South Sea. Here is a photo of those type pearls I recently donated to an auction benefit:Name:  P1000834  save.jpg
Views: 883
Size:  22.2 KB The particular necklace is 10.5-13 mm.

Just suggestions, of course, but I'd here's a thought:

1. Dangle earrings with large single pearl
    2. Two separate but same knotted pearl bracelets, worn together for the wedding