Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Melo melo?

Default Melo melo?

Hello,

I am a geologist and for the last ten years or so have been messing in gemology and thus pearls.

OK I have a gem problem and a pearl problem - I can stare at gems and pearls for hours and hours and - oh well never mind I think the denizens of this forum might understand - if the items mentioned are reflected on the skin well oh never mind.

I've been collecting from all sorts of sources and I live in a very weird place. Have all sorts of stuff including pearls.

Anyway I found this object recently from a thrift store. Obviously I think it is a melo melo so do the geologists that work for me and the local jewelers tell me I am not insane.

So I found this forum and would like opinions.

thanks
    Attached Images Attached Images    

Super Moderator Senior Pearl-Guide.com Pearl Expert jshepherd's Avatar

Can you shine a pointed light through it (especially around the edges) to discern more flame? It definitely looks like it could be.

Name:  IMG_3868.jpg
Views: 522
Size:  24.0 KBName:  IMG_3802.jpg
Views: 471
Size:  15.4 KBName:  IMG_3867.jpg
Views: 536
Size:  27.6 KBName:  IMG_3871.jpg
Views: 484
Size:  26.0 KBName:  IMG_3859.jpg
Views: 537
Size:  26.5 KB
    Quote Originally Posted by jshepherd View Post
    Can you shine a pointed light through it (especially around the edges) to discern more flame? It definitely looks like it could be.
    I do not have a directed light source available till next week and a photo would be difficult. In front of a bright light it is translucent on the edges. I'll attach more images.

As an aside I live in one of the most unusual places in the world and a melo melo in a thrift shop should not be considered an impossibility.

Inactive Senior Pearl-Guide.com Pearl Expert

At first glance, melo melo seems like a reasonable assumption as well.

Super Moderator Senior Pearl-Guide.com Pearl Expert jshepherd's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by vroom View Post