Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: South Sea?

Default South Sea?

Hi! I love pearls but I am just starting to learn about them. My first few pieces were from Jewelmer because I was too afraid to buy anywhere else not knowing how to spot fake vs real. I recently tried buying from the pearl market but wanted to check opinions in this forum.

I was told that these are south sea pearls. Any thoughts? Thanks!!!
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    Last edited by JaniceV; 06-03-2019 at 07:35 AM.

Pearl Enthusiast Senior Pearl-Guide.com Pearl Expert Pearl Dreams's Avatar

Hi Janice!

It's hard to tell from that photo. It could be a south sea pearl. What market did you buy from? Greenhills?

Hello! �� I got it from Market Market. Here is the second pearl.
    Name:  294F7AB4-9A76-474E-8B10-D81B0DC7380B.jpg
Views: 140
Size:  36.0 KB
    Last edited by JaniceV; 06-03-2019 at 07:36 AM.

I don't see a second photo yet....

So, just curious, is Market Market a store, or an open air market? Are there many pearl sellers?

I see it now.

It is very shiny...in the way that freshwater pearls tend to be, but not so much south sea pearls.
    The color appears silvery in the photo.

It could be a dyed fwp, or it could be a cool white/silvery toned SSP with higher luster than usual.

Quote Originally Posted by Pearl Dreams View Post
    I don't see a second photo yet....

So, just curious, is Market Market a store, or an open air market? Are there many pearl sellers?
    Market Market is a mall with an area with many pearl sellers. It is similar to Greenhills.

Quote Originally Posted by Pearl Dreams View Post
    I see it now.

It is very shiny...in the way that freshwater pearls tend to be, but not so much south sea pearls.
    The color appears silvery in the photo.

It could be a dyed fwp, or it could be a cool white/silvery toned SSP with higher luster than usual.