Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: What do people think of this?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    73

    Default What do people think of this?

    I can't keep my mind or eyes off pearls for very long, and tend to spend hours browsing around sites or various kinds looking. I'm not intending to buy - especially the ones I link to below, because I don't like them. My aim is to educate myself. On a UK auction site (not ebay) there are these:

    http://uk.ebid.net/for-sale/marked-s...k-67665159.htm

    I suspect something dodgy obviously, but they do look like real pearls. Again, I have no intention of buying these - I'm looking at all sorts and all types for education/eye candy/fun/dreaming purposes. When I buy I buy from people on this forum for my own peace of mind about the quality of the pearls and in order to get what I paid for. However, I still look all over.

    I like the line "Size variation due to natural pearls," LOL But what do people think they are?
    "I may be persuaded to surrender the hat. The pearls, however, are absolutely non-negotiable."

  2. #2
    pearlescence is offline purveyor of pearls Senior Pearl-Guide.com Pearl Expert
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    NW England, European Union
    Posts
    2,406

    Default

    With a gold tone clasp I think they are very routine and probably not naturals
    It seems odd that an american seller is listing on a uk site (is it a UK site?)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    5,732

    Default

    Cultured pearls at best, but possibly even imitation pearls.
    Pattye


    PatriciaSaabDesigns.etsy.com


    SO MANY PEARLS, SO LITTLE TIME----

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    73

    Default

    I'm guessing they were kicked off eBay.
    "I may be persuaded to surrender the hat. The pearls, however, are absolutely non-negotiable."

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    2

    Default

    hey, guys, i also came across the same question. My little sister aged 8 years old. she just told me that she very like this swan necklace
    http://www.umiskii.com/crystal-neckl...an-necklaceand she persuade me to buy that for her.
    it seems like a pear, I am not very sure about it, very likely not. Is that fake pearl or man-made one?

  6. #6
    Caitlin's Avatar
    Caitlin is offline Rare Pearl Senior Pearl-Guide.com Pearl Expert
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Land of Pearls
    Posts
    7,941

    Default

    that link doesn't work.

  7. #7
    GemGeek's Avatar
    GemGeek is offline Author & Pearl Subversive Senior Pearl-Guide.com Pearl Expert
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    4,610

    Default

    The shapes of the pearls looks like Chinese freshwater cultured pearls.
    GemGeek
    The World Is My Oyster!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    2

    Default

    sorry about that. the link is http://www.umiskii.com/crystal-neckl...-swan-necklace
    I need more advices as possible. thank you very much.

  9. #9
    Caitlin's Avatar
    Caitlin is offline Rare Pearl Senior Pearl-Guide.com Pearl Expert
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Land of Pearls
    Posts
    7,941

    Default

    You have got to be kidding! That site is crystal pearls, fake pearls faux pearls, whatever you want to call it.

    This is not the forum for costume jewelry and I don't know what is.

Similar Threads

  1. Thank you pearl-guide people!
    By waimeamomi in forum Show Us Your Pearls!
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 07-24-2008, 01:02 AM
  2. Replies: 18
    Last Post: 12-10-2007, 07:19 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •