Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20

Thread: Thinking of buying Golden SS from "xiangmingtan" on ebay. Is this a mistake?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    117

    Default Thinking of buying Golden SS from "xiangmingtan" on ebay. Is this a mistake?

    Hi guys. I am new to the site--posting wise. I have been a lurker from time to time. This is such a great community and resource. Thanks for the effort y'all make to educate newbies like me.

    Anyway, my wife loves pearls... really loves them!! She has a big birthday coming up and her brother is getting married next month. I would like to do something special for her and I saw her looking online for Golden SS shell pearls to match her dress and shoes she's wearing to the wedding. I have never really considered SS pearls before because the prices are so darn high.

    I found a few on ebay that seem "too good to be true." I am smart enough to know the old saying, but one particular vendor have been on ebay for a while and has a really high rating. He has some strands that he is selling for prices that don't see to out of whack from what I have seen from online vendors in the US and then he has a few other strands, smaller MM (9-11 mm range) that look really nice in the pictures (claims to be non-stock) for pretty low prices ($260.00 for a round 10-11mm Golden strand--that looks very clean in the picture). If it's the real deal, I would I want a few opinions before I spend money.

    The vendor is xiangmingtan and the strand I was looking at is AAAAA18"10-11mm NATURAL REAL South sea golden pearl necklace 14K. He is located in Hong Kong and has the strand listed for $258.00. (I tried to post a link to the ebay listing, but the forum blocked my post because of the URL).

    He has other strands with larger mm pearls that he is selling for prices that I am more accustomed to seeing. I sent him an email to confirm they are real SS pearls and not dyed freshies or shell pearls, which he confirmed. What am I missing here? Does this strand make sense to you?

    I would rather not spend ~$250 for shell pearls (although if the clasp is real 14k gold ball clasp as described (not plated or filled)--it wouldn't be the worst that wouldn't be the worst purchase I have made).

    Anyway, thanks in advance for your thoughts and advice.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Manhattan Beach, CA
    Posts
    4,471

    Default

    Everything the seller has is "South Sea."

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/48-8-9mm-REA...ht_1704wt_1139

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/AAAAA-REAL-1...ht_1687wt_1139

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/AAAAA-REAL-1...ht_1687wt_1139

    None of the pearls are South Sea. If you do buy that strand, you will either receive a strand of freshwater pearls or a strand of fake pearls. The seller, even with 100% positive feedback, is a fraud.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    398

    Default

    Hi and welcome on PG. It is hard to tell from one picture, but if you are looking for shell pearls, this might be it. Perhaps if you have a price limit, some freshwater pearls or a SS golden pendant may do the trick? If you buy from a vendor that makes exchanges hassle free, you will have a much better buying experience than on ebay.

  4. #4
    Caitlin's Avatar
    Caitlin is offline Rare Pearl Senior Pearl-Guide.com Pearl Expert
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Land of Pearls
    Posts
    7,941

    Default

    One clue: You will never find a South Sea necklace with round flawless pearls as depicted for less than a couple of thousand dollars. Even a baroque necklace will be almost 1k. A pait of earring of real SS would cost 300.00 minimum.

    Perhaps, buy a high quality freshwater strand, instead.

  5. #5
    Lagoon Island Pearls's Avatar
    Lagoon Island Pearls is offline Natural Pearl Expert Senior Pearl-Guide.com Pearl Expert
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Tofino, BC Canada
    Posts
    938

    Default

    Not natural, not south sea, not saltwater, not AAAAA, not solid gold, not a bargain.
    Dave

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    567

    Default

    Oh wow Jeremy, those "REAL NATURAL south sea RED"s are really something! Do they come from a lake in Southern Siberia?
    Amazing the garbage they get away with!

  7. #7

    Default

    I get sick about Ebay how people are fooled with fake goods. These can not even considered to carry the name 'pearls'.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Turtlehead Island, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    113

    Default

    Go Jeremy, well said mate

    Rusty
    Rusty & Bronwyn Tully
    Torres Pearls Pty Ltd
    Turtlehead Island
    Escape River

    Faarrr North Queensland, Australia.

    www.torrespearls.com

  9. #9
    Mikeyy's Avatar
    Mikeyy is offline Pearl Diver Senior Pearl-Guide.com Pearl Expert
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    California
    Posts
    1,041

    Default

    What do you mean fraud? Those are the most natural pinkish-redish, sort of dayglow pearls I have ever seen. Where's my wallet?

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/48-8-9mm-REA...ht_1704wt_1139

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Manhattan Beach, CA
    Posts
    4,471

    Default

    You beat me to it, Mike! The listing is gone. It was the only one in the world ... .......................................

  11. #11
    Pearl Dreams's Avatar
    Pearl Dreams is offline Pearl Enthusiast Senior Pearl-Guide.com Pearl Expert
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    2,305

    Default

    Run, don't walk, from that seller.
    Since your wife loves pearls, get her a real SS pearl as a pendant, or some earrings, or a freshwater strand-- but not shell pearls, which are not real pearls at all but just a shell bead with a man-made coating that imitates nacre.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    117

    Default

    Thanks so much guys for the input. Obviously, I sort of knew in advance what you guys would say, but I needed to just hear it anyway. I guess I'll have save up a while to get her a set of south seas that she will truly love.

    Jeremy, are there actually freshies, dyed or otherwise, that can simulate/emulate the look of Golden SS (by which I mean kind of big-- 8-10mm--and really "gold" looking)??

    I know I have seen gold akoyas, but we're not really into them. I just don't like the idea of messing with akoyas any more than standard bleaching and pinking, but I don't feel that way when it comes to freshwaters.

    Btw, I am wearing a pair of baroque tahitian pearl cufflinks I bought from PP last week Jeremy and they are awesome. I am thinking of pinking up a pair of the white ss baroques while they are still on clearance (sorry I didn't do it while the 10% discount was still available).

  13. #13

    Default

    One other way I found on Ebay is if the feedback shows it was a "private listing -- buyers' identities protected" the person is trying to protect themselves and not the buyer!!

  14. #14
    KarinK's Avatar
    KarinK is offline Third-graft Pearl Senior Pearl-Guide.com Pearl Expert
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    Posts
    873

    Default

    Hi est190,

    I recently bought a strand of natural cream colored Akoya pearls from Kojima Pearls (http://kojimapearl.com). They had been in Sarah's pearl business familie's safe for 30 years. I paid $330 and they look just like baby SS. I don't know if she still has more.

    - Karin

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Manhattan Beach, CA
    Posts
    4,471

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by est190 View Post
    Jeremy, are there actually freshies, dyed or otherwise, that can simulate/emulate the look of Golden SS (by which I mean kind of big-- 8-10mm--and really "gold" looking)??

    I know I have seen gold akoyas, but we're not really into them. I just don't like the idea of messing with akoyas any more than standard bleaching and pinking, but I don't feel that way when it comes to freshwaters.

    Btw, I am wearing a pair of baroque tahitian pearl cufflinks I bought from PP last week Jeremy and they are awesome. I am thinking of pinking up a pair of the white ss baroques while they are still on clearance (sorry I didn't do it while the 10% discount was still available).
    Yes, large, dyed freshwater do exist, but they don't look like real golden SSP, IMHO.

    I'm not sure what you mean about messing with akoya related to the gold. Natural gold color akoya do exist, and they haven't gone through the bleaching and pinking, so they are among the least messed with. Not to get into another discussion about the Japan Pearl Science Lab with you, but when we first brought them in, we had a few dozen certed as natural color. The natural golds (in hanadama grade) are called kinsyoku, and the natural silver-blues are called madama.

    I'm glad you are enjoying the cufflinks.
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    Last edited by jshepherd; 01-12-2012 at 05:45 PM. Reason: adding an image

Similar Threads

  1. Buying and Selling on eBay
    By Bodecia in forum Pearls on eBay Q & A
    Replies: 123
    Last Post: 03-22-2013, 04:07 AM
  2. Thinking about buying these...
    By Colin_M in forum What Kind of Pearls do I have?
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 11-22-2011, 02:50 AM
  3. Do People Still Waste Their Time Buying Pearls Of All Things On eBay ???
    By Pearlsintime in forum Pearls on eBay Q & A
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 09-20-2008, 11:31 PM
  4. Buying for fun on eBay
    By Taylor in forum Pearls on eBay Q & A
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-24-2006, 08:33 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •