Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 124

Thread: Groupon offer for My Pacific Pearls

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    KarinK's Avatar
    KarinK is offline Third-graft Pearl Senior Pearl-Guide.com Pearl Expert
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    Posts
    886

    Default

    Edit by Pearl-Guide.com Administrator

    If you happened upon this thread while considering a Groupon purchase from MyPacificPearls.com, I strongly advise reading the entire thread before making a purchase decision.

    Plus the headline says:

    "$79 for Authentic 18-Inch Pearl Necklace" - authentic what? Baaad karma selling FPP as something else...

    - Karin
    Last edited by Admin; 01-29-2012 at 03:52 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Rhode Island USA
    Posts
    179

    Default

    They are FWP very deceptive to the average consumer
    President of Imperial-Deltah
    Presently serve on the boards of the AGTA, CPAA and the Plumb Club
    30 Years in the Pearl Industry
    www.pearls.com

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    5,750

    Default

    Should they even be using "Pacific Pearls" name? That belongs to Fuji Voll.
    Pattye


    PatriciaSaabDesigns.etsy.com


    SO MANY PEARLS, SO LITTLE TIME----

  4. #4
    pearlescence is offline purveyor of pearls Senior Pearl-Guide.com Pearl Expert
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    NW England, European Union
    Posts
    2,410

    Default

    Read the piece. It is very cleverly written to mislead. It implies a lot and the reader jumps to conclusions.
    For eg, it only defines an area as pacific, doesn't say the pearls come from the pacific ocean....

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Manhattan Beach, CA
    Posts
    4,473

    Default

    They were discussed on Pricescope. The Grupon offer seems to be all over the US. Someone wrote a pretty scathing report on Pricescope (post number 12 by emily1). But the poster is a one-time poster, so who knows whether or not it is completely valid.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    245

    Default

    Hi.. and Thank you very much Pattye for giving me the heads up about this site. I know it is obvious.. just thought it should be somewhere in print that our family has NOTHING to do with "mypacificpearls"... or their shady soft-**** pearl site! Sincerely, Sarah (kojimapearl.com) and Fuji Voll ( www.pacificpearls.us )

    THAT'S DOT US!
    Cheers, and I hope this finds you ALL happy and healthy!
    Sarah Canizzaro
    Kojima Company
    www.kojimapearl.com

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    5,750

    Default

    Sarah,

    Perhaps it would be appropriate for a lawyer to deal with this. I would hate to see sites springing up called My Pearl Paradise, My Pure Pearls, My Pearls of Joy, My Kojima Pearl, etc.

    Any "Pearl Police" that want to address MyPacificPearls directly about their lack of clarity about type of pearls they are selling/their groupon offer are encouraged to do so.
    Last edited by pattye; 09-29-2011 at 06:03 PM. Reason: add info
    Pattye


    PatriciaSaabDesigns.etsy.com


    SO MANY PEARLS, SO LITTLE TIME----

  8. #8
    Caitlin's Avatar
    Caitlin is offline Rare Pearl Senior Pearl-Guide.com Pearl Expert
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Land of Pearls
    Posts
    7,950

    Default

    A nightmare!!!!!!!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Victoria Canada, and Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    1,098

    Default

    I saw them on pricescope as well, so looks like they have done a few groupons. Just the same old scam we see all the time, calling black fwps "Tahitian" and so on. I'm sure a lot of people fall for it though.
    Kevin Canning
    Pearls Of Joy
    www.PearlsOfJoy.com
    Twitter.com/PearlsOfJoycom
    FaceBook Fan Page
    1-800-451-1411
    Save 10% with promo code "pg"

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Manhattan Beach, CA
    Posts
    4,473

    Default

    I was wondering about their offer when I saw it. The way I understand it, Groupon takes half. That means the company is really selling the pearls for $40. In the pictures, I see a ball clasp and the description reads 14 karat. Those ball clasps alone cost that much, so it made no sense. But the poster from Pricescope said the clasp wasn't actually 14 karat. I get the feeling that they are telling the truth about that part. Selling something that is not 14 karat and advertising that it is amounts to true fraud.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Manhattan Beach, CA
    Posts
    4,473

    Default

    Oh, and this is our picture -

    http://www.mypacificpearls.com/shop/...white-gold/326

    ... used without permission.

  12. #12
    KarinK's Avatar
    KarinK is offline Third-graft Pearl Senior Pearl-Guide.com Pearl Expert
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    Posts
    886

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jshepherd View Post
    Oh, and this is our picture -

    http://www.mypacificpearls.com/shop/...white-gold/326

    ... used without permission.
    That link just STINKS so bad! Notice how they call the colour Tahitian Black. They are not actually saying that the pearls are Tahitian (which they obviously arent at that price). At least there is a chance that someone will find our discussion here if they care to google the company.

    - Karin

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Rhode Island USA
    Posts
    179

    Default

    I received this answer what crap!


    Hello there Peter, the pearls in the Maria-Theresa Reef Collection are 100% authentic and genuine high quality AA+ freshwater pearls from across the Pacific region. All necklaces are accompanied by a certificate of authenticity and valuation for insurance purposes. We are a leading farm-direct global supplier of handmade, authentic pearl jewelry and we do not source any of our products from China. All the 8 colors in this collection are naturally acquired and rest assured they are not dyed or artificially altered in any way. Thank you for your query and have a great weekend!
    My Pacific Pearls . answered 1 hour and 3 minutes ago
    Last edited by pbazar; 09-30-2011 at 01:04 PM.
    President of Imperial-Deltah
    Presently serve on the boards of the AGTA, CPAA and the Plumb Club
    30 Years in the Pearl Industry
    www.pearls.com

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    353

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pbazar View Post
    I received this answer what crap!


    Hello there Peter, the pearls in the Maria-Theresa Reef Collection are 100% authentic and genuine high quality AA+ freshwater pearls from across the Pacific region. All necklaces are accompanied by a certificate of authenticity and valuation for insurance purposes. We are a leading farm-direct global supplier of handmade, authentic pearl jewelry and we do not source any of our products from China. All the 8 colors in this collection are naturally acquired and rest assured they are not dyed or artificially altered in any way. Thank you for your query and have a great weekend!
    My Pacific Pearls . answered 1 hour and 3 minutes ago
    Um, THEY EVEN SAY SO ON THEIR OWN SITE!: "Freshwater Pearls treated with organic dye to bring out a Golden color"

    http://www.mypacificpearls.com/shop/...gold-clasp/208

    Guess he forgot that was on there........ OOOPS! (I think it was the only one that used the "D" word - certainly the "Tahitian black" items don't say so).......

    - Jodie -
    "I believe the nicest and sweetest days are not those on which anything very splendid or wonderful or exciting happens but just those that bring simple little pleasures, following one another softly, like pearls slipping off a string."
    - Lucy Maude Montgomery -

  15. #15
    Caitlin's Avatar
    Caitlin is offline Rare Pearl Senior Pearl-Guide.com Pearl Expert
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Land of Pearls
    Posts
    7,950

    Default

    AH hah! I hope many more people see this thread and its shilly defenses! Good going. Their sales practices may be worse than their product. They stole a photo. they stole a highly respected business name. They are aware of this thread and tried to shill it.

    Bad group on. Bad boys!

    Readers, Boycott these guys!!!!

Similar Threads

  1. Automatic rejection of Best Offer
    By KarinK in forum Pearls on eBay Q & A
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-12-2010, 01:14 PM
  2. Private Offer List
    By jshepherd in forum Pearling Industry News
    Replies: 194
    Last Post: 09-22-2009, 09:03 PM
  3. Where to buy in Asia Pacific
    By maryd in forum Consumer Pearl Q & A
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-20-2009, 12:11 PM
  4. NEW!!! Pacific Pearls Website
    By kojimapearl in forum Pearling Industry News
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-12-2008, 08:47 PM
  5. Inky Tahitian pearls offer a touch of the exotic
    By Kenji in forum Pearling Industry News
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-16-2005, 12:29 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •