+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 40

Thread: Does anyone have any experience with seller es_store?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Washington
    Posts
    9

    Default Does anyone have any experience with seller es_store?

    Hi all,

    I am looking at some pearls from this seller (es_store), who seems to have great feedback. Has anyone dealt with this seller before? Does this SS pearl look real and decent for the price?

    http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...m=390220400907

    Thanks for taking a look!

  2. Pearls Of Joy
  3. #2
    pearlescence is offline purveyor of pearls Senior Pearl-Guide.com Pearl Expert
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    NW England, European Union
    Posts
    1,909

    Default

    They appear to use the same photo for many of the single gss pearls, the lustre isn't great. I've seen better for less

    I am curious to see what tripe pearls are - not come across those before

  4. #3
    Hanaleimom's Avatar
    Hanaleimom is offline Natural Pearl Senior Pearl-Guide.com Pearl Expert
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    US
    Posts
    1,348

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pearlescence View Post

    I am curious to see what tripe pearls are - not come across those before
    Triple strands but they had typo. They also have "singe" strand for single strand.

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    90

    Default

    from Ebay I would never buy South Sea pearls from sellers in China. Only Pearl Society and Es-store are genuine sellers in Hong Kong. And if not satisfied you always can send back the items within their condition period.
    But you have to bid often to the last seconds because it looks like that if bid is too low they bid over you in the last seconds

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Washington
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Thank you for replies, all.

    Cees, what do you mean by "they bid over you in the last seconds"? Do you mean the seller does (shilling)? Or, other bidders try to snipe the auction?

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    90

    Default

    The price per gramme for this pearl if it would go for this price is around USD 6 and that is far below the cost for a pearl farmer. And the pearl is round as it is stated the price is extremely low. The luster does not look as high as it is stated but even taken that into consideration it would be a bargain. It might go as high as 50-80 USD at the end. Depending on the market situation and the time the bidding is finishing. Some clever buyers sit by and follow the item until the end, the sellers most of the time also. I am not sure if the seller is bidding also, but they must hate to see it go for a price below their cost.

  8. #7
    pearlescence is offline purveyor of pearls Senior Pearl-Guide.com Pearl Expert
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    NW England, European Union
    Posts
    1,909

    Default

    In the UK it is unlawful for a seller to bid - in a real auction the practice is known as bouncing bids off the wall, while it happens also on ebay. A seller here was recently convicted of bidding up his own items using a second identity.

  9. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Isn't that called shill bidding? But if they don't shill, can somebody maybe get pearls that are lower than their cost?

  10. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Tucson
    Posts
    6,456

    Default

    Those 99c auctions, if not bid up may result in someone getting something below cost. It's a chance the seller takes.

    When bids show up in the last few seconds, it is not shilling, but sniping. There are programs buyers can use that set up their top bid, but don't reveal it until the last few seconds of bidding, when suddenly you are being outbid and it is too late to put in a higher bid.

  11. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Washington
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Caitlin,

    That's what I figured is going on. I've been buying (frequently) and selling (very occasionally) on Ebay, and sniping is very common. But, unfortunately, shilling is also a reality, which is practically impossible to spot in private auctions. Hopefully, though, that's not the case for majority of Ebay sellers. I've looked through es_store's feedback and some of their $9.99 auctions end at that price or slightly above. Some end higher. So, I don't think there's any shilling there.

    I doubt that they are selling pearls below cost, though, which is why I am curious if anyone has bought from them and seen their product in person.

  12. #11
    GemGeek's Avatar
    GemGeek is offline Author & Pearl Subversive Senior Pearl-Guide.com Pearl Expert
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    4,189

    Default

    You might have noticed that some of the 99 cent auctions have twenty dollar shipping - so not quite the bargain, after all!
    GemGeek
    The World Is My Oyster!

  13. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Wiltshire, UK
    Posts
    711

    Default

    I have bought some good pieces from es_store at very good prices in the past, however, nothing too expensive. I tend to "snipe" at auctions, and had been known to stay up late in order to do so.

    However, that was a good few years ago, and I have not come across anything that I fancy lately, as in not some many bargains to be had.

    DK
    Treat every life situation like a dog: if you can't play with it, eat it, or hump it, p1$$ on it and walk away

  14. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Asia Pacific (Melbourne and Singapore)
    Posts
    635

    Default Take a look at these - Chinese kasumis on ebay

    I took a double take when I saw these on ebay; Chinese kasumis with spectacular orient and textured skins. Current bid for these 14 pearls (12.2-14.2mm) is $128 and there are 3 days left to go...

    In your expert opinion, is that a reasonable price to pay or a tad too high?

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/350496696510...84.m1438.l2649
    Attached Images  

  15. #14
    pearlescence is offline purveyor of pearls Senior Pearl-Guide.com Pearl Expert
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    NW England, European Union
    Posts
    1,909

    Default

    Nice pearls and decent size, but strands were about $60-70 at the Gem show last month. I have some.

  16. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    342

    Default

    Hi Adeline,
    These are truly beautiful pearls. I wish, however, that sellers would be more honest in their descriptions. Kasumi pearls are only from one lake in Japan. These are Chinese freshwater pearls that have the appearance of kasumi pearls. They would be honest to say kasumi like. augustus-collection has labeled their offerings accurately. As for the price, I have seen them for more and for less. Good luck!

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. Does anybody know about anything about this seller?
    By Amrita in forum Pearling Industry News
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 01-13-2010, 09:26 PM
  2. Any experience with esty supplier chinesegemstone?
    By Denali in forum Pearls on eBay Q & A
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 07-13-2009, 07:34 PM
  3. All about silk thread
    By knotty panda in forum The Lowly Beaders' Club
    Replies: 78
    Last Post: 02-06-2009, 09:59 AM
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-04-2008, 02:09 AM
  5. Ebay pearl pendant- legit seller?
    By callire in forum Pearls on eBay Q & A
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-12-2008, 01:42 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts