Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Akoyas?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    NY, NY
    Posts
    12

    Default Akoyas?

    Hi everyone. After lurking forever, and soaking in everything I could about pearls (thank you everyone), I took the plunge last year and bought my first tahitian baroque strand and silver/blue akoyas from PP.
    So again, thanks for all your knowledge

    Recently, I cam across an estate pearl necklace. The seller describes it as: "AAA quality 8mm Japanese pearl choker, 15 1/2"

    I'm guessing they mean "akoya" when they say japanese? I did email them but no response yet.

    Here's 2 pictures, I've noticed you guys can usually tell akoya's from freshwater pearls and am wondering what you think.
    Attached Images Attached Images   

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Manhattan Beach, CA
    Posts
    4,471

    Default

    If they are genuine cultured pearls, I would definitely say akoya. It is difficult to tell with the photos exactly what you have there. The images seem a bit doctored.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    NY, NY
    Posts
    12

    Default

    Yeah, I think the photos are a bit doctored too.
    Not sure what to do..

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    5,730

    Default

    Hi Lovetahitians,

    Welcome!

    If it is the listing at doverjewelry online that you are referring to, I would want to know:

    1. What is the return policy.
    2. They should reply to your inquiry.
    3. The necklace is not described very well, they do not explain what AAA means. This possibly means the appraisal was not done by someone knowledgeable about pearls, because much of an accurate description could come directly from the written appraisal.
    4. No info about body color and overtones. Nothing specific about nacre quality, which is so important when investing in akoyas.

    Just my 2c-----
    Pattye


    PatriciaSaabDesigns.etsy.com


    SO MANY PEARLS, SO LITTLE TIME----

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    NY, NY
    Posts
    12

    Default

    Hi Pattye-
    Thank you for the welcome.
    The listing is DoverJewelry!! I've heard good things about them so thought maybe I could chance it.

    But you're right, their return policy isn't mentioned anywhere. I would need to know it first, and the description doesn't tell you much. Will ask for more info.

    Still waiting for a response.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Victoria Canada, and Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    1,098

    Default

    something very funny going on with those pics - doesn't mean the pearls are going to be bad, just means they got carried away in photoshop. I'd get some more information before moving forward though.
    Kevin Canning
    Pearls Of Joy
    www.PearlsOfJoy.com
    Twitter.com/PearlsOfJoycom
    FaceBook Fan Page
    1-800-451-1411
    Save 10% with promo code "pg"

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    NY, NY
    Posts
    12

    Default

    Kevin- The pics make me uncomfortable too.

    They emailed me back last night. Said the pearls were akoya and had a very good luster.
    Think I'm gonna pass. While the price is good, I still don't know their return policy.
    I'd also rather wait a little longer and get a hanadama strand.
    Thanks for help, guys. Much appreciated.

Similar Threads

  1. Durability of Akoyas
    By pearl_goddess in forum Akoya Pearls
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-21-2009, 04:38 PM
  2. My baroques Akoyas
    By imanit in forum Show Us Your Pearls!
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-26-2007, 05:58 PM
  3. Sea Water Pearls- Not Akoyas?
    By Pearlfan in forum Akoya Pearls
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-30-2007, 04:53 PM
  4. why are fw not nucleated like akoyas?
    By mikehrz in forum Freshwater Pearls
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-06-2005, 08:06 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •