+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 33

Thread: Are these really South Sea Baroques?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    317

    Default Are these really South Sea Baroques?

    I buy most of my pearls on ebay from reputable sellers and recently got these recommended to me by ebay in their automated "suggestion list":

    http://cgi.ebay.com/GRAND-94-1-SOUTH...QQcmdZViewItem

    I was curious and checked the seller out. Claims to sell items from a movie production company. Sells a number of items that way, all very expensive. However the pearls look more like FW baroques to me. Am I wrong?

    I would appreciate your opinion, since my knowledge of pearls is still limited.

  2. Pearls Of Joy
  3. #2
    pearlescence is offline purveyor of pearls Senior Pearl-Guide.com Pearl Expert
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    NW England, European Union
    Posts
    1,909

    Default

    They look like not very good freshwater baroques to me. There are clear flat sides. May be a couple of years old, the baroques I am now getting into stock are much better quality, very lustrous and rounded with no flat sides.
    The grammar in the description is also poor - not the work of the high powered exec...?

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Wiltshire, UK
    Posts
    711

    Default

    Concur with Wendy that they look more like very good Freshwater Baroques, have a look at this strand and you'd know what I mean:

    Pillow Freshwaters

    DK
    Treat every life situation like a dog: if you can't play with it, eat it, or hump it, p1$$ on it and walk away

  5. #4
    pearlescence is offline purveyor of pearls Senior Pearl-Guide.com Pearl Expert
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    NW England, European Union
    Posts
    1,909

    Default

    I would not say they were even very good - they have clear flats and very irregular shapes. I have some like those greys in stock - I must upload them sometime this year

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Tianjin & Beijing, China
    Posts
    663

    Default

    I agree those are definitely freshwater baroques, Ramona.

  7. #6
    Sueki's Avatar
    Sueki is offline Pearl Collector & Designer Senior Pearl-Guide.com Pearl Expert
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    London, U.K.
    Posts
    980

    Default

    Hi Ramona,
    Welcome to the forum.
    I agree with the others - those pearls are freshwaters.

  8. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    360

    Default

    Definately freshwater baroques. They are NOT South Sea pearls.
    Terry Shepherd
    President
    The Pearl Outlet
    http://www.thepearloutlet.com

  9. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    4,655

    Default

    OK, Pearl Police, you know what to do! I just emailed the seller, and also filed ebay complaint.
    Pattye


    PatriciaSaabDesigns.etsy.com

    PatriciaSaabDesigns.ArtFire.com Certified Handmade Jewelry

    PatriciaSaabDIY.ArtFire.com Unfinished pearl strands and gems


    SO MANY PEARLS, SO LITTLE TIME----

  10. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    317

    Default

    Thanks to all of you for your opinion. I have reported the seller as well. Probably nothing will happen. What worries me this is a seller with >250 sales and 100% feedback and his stuff is all super expensive. I assume since the pearls are so obviously a fraud, so is probably the rest. I cannot believe people buy this stuff.

    PS: This is a great site. I am glad I found it.

  11. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    4,655

    Default

    Now they have another listing using the same photo. Filed another report.

    p.s. Welcome Ramona!
    Pattye


    PatriciaSaabDesigns.etsy.com

    PatriciaSaabDesigns.ArtFire.com Certified Handmade Jewelry

    PatriciaSaabDIY.ArtFire.com Unfinished pearl strands and gems


    SO MANY PEARLS, SO LITTLE TIME----

  12. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    PV Peninsula, California
    Posts
    1,114

    Default

    Good job pearl police! I see they have 2 listings for similar strands and that they are only guaranteeing that they are "genuine baroque pearls." Well, duh. Here's a link to some similar pearls I got directly from China same shapes and flat backs. http://www.pearl-guide.com/forum/fre...me-pearls.html
    Sheryl

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/Maunakeamoonlight
    https://www.facebook.com/MaunaKeaMoonlight

    “All art is autobiographical; the pearl is the oyster's autobiography” Frederico Fellini
    Momi means pearl in Hawaiian!

  13. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    86

    Default

    Baroque South Seas look more like the attached photo. The pics from the eBay listing definitely appear to be freshwater. Notice the difference between the eBay pics and the one I attached. I also noticed they removed the "South Sea" portion on the eBay listing.
    Attached Images  
    Last edited by MWP; 01-19-2009 at 06:52 PM. Reason: Adding another photo
    Steve and Jacqui
    www.MuseumWayPearls.com
    888-817-2843
    CustomerService@MuseumWayPearls.com
    Enter "PearlGuide" at Checkout for 10% off

  14. #13
    Slraep is offline Magnificent Pearl Guru Senior Pearl-Guide.com Pearl Expert
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,214

    Default

    100% Chinese cultured freshwater pearls.

    The vendor's description is quite funny and far fetched but this particular part is hilarious: ( For the sake of comparison, think of what it would cost to just buy 173 Huge Premium Oysters - without any Huge Baroque Pearls in them!)

    Slraep

  15. #14
    pearlescence is offline purveyor of pearls Senior Pearl-Guide.com Pearl Expert
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    NW England, European Union
    Posts
    1,909

    Default

    They've now got two of these items...identical, according to the photo..

  16. #15
    Raisondetre's Avatar
    Raisondetre is offline Third-graft Pearl Senior Pearl-Guide.com Pearl Expert
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    974

    Default

    Well, premium oysters wouldn't cost that much ... and you get to eat them too!
    Aspiring ninja. Go Storm Shadow!

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. % of Natural Rounds to Baroques and all in betweens
    By Bodecia in forum Natural Pearls
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-18-2008, 03:26 PM
  2. My first South Sea pearls earrings!
    By Casey.R in forum Show Us Your Pearls!
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 02-01-2008, 06:49 AM
  3. South Sea Pearls from China?
    By butterfly in forum South Sea Pearls
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-26-2006, 06:19 AM
  4. Consumer Guide to Buying South Sea Pearls
    By purepearls in forum South Sea Pearls
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-06-2004, 02:35 AM
  5. Queen of The Sea - The South Sea Pearl
    By jshepherd in forum South Sea Pearls
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-05-2004, 09:39 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts