Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: too good to be true?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    California
    Posts
    618

    Default too good to be true?

    I know these must not be what it says they are, given the price (starting bid at .99), but what do the experts think???

    Ebay item 200212021090, supposedly 8mm golden Australian SS pearl strand from pinctada maxima, not shell pearls.

    Dyed FW or Akoya? Luster looks pretty metallic for SSP to me. Not to mention incredible color (and price...).
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  2. #2
    Raisondetre's Avatar
    Raisondetre is offline Third-graft Pearl Senior Pearl-Guide.com Pearl Expert
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    972

    Default

    I don't think there are 8 mm GSS, unless it's keishi, which wouldn't typically be round. My bet is dyed FW. My mom got some which was made into costume jewellery. The color isn't as gaudy though.
    Aspiring ninja. Go Storm Shadow!

  3. #3
    jerin Guest

    Default

    Sheri,

    that must be dyed freshwaters! The colour is much too uniform for them to be natural coloured as well...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    1,948

    Default

    I agree - I think they are very ordinary freshwaters dyed a strange colour of goldy/orange. Not sure if you would want those in those fabulous pieces you make, Sheri!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    California
    Posts
    618

    Default

    Thanks to you all for your feedback...you've confirmed my suspicions.

  6. #6
    Satine De La Courcel Guest

    Default

    I hate to say it But They look just like Dyed Fresh water pearls.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Manhattan Beach, CA
    Posts
    4,471

    Default

    Definitely dyed freshwater. Check out this seller's excellent Tahitian studs as well It makes you wonder if all of the seller's stones are fake as well.

    http://cgi.ebay.com/Excellent-Black-...QQcmdZViewItem

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Victoria Canada, and Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    1,098

    Default

    hey those aren't a bad buy Jeremy, as long as nobody bids over 99 cents
    Kevin Canning
    Pearls Of Joy
    www.PearlsOfJoy.com
    Twitter.com/PearlsOfJoycom
    FaceBook Fan Page
    1-800-451-1411
    Save 10% with promo code "pg"

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •