Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Does this look SS to you?

  1. #1
    Raisondetre's Avatar
    Raisondetre is offline Third-graft Pearl Senior Pearl-Guide.com Pearl Expert
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    972

    Default Does this look SS to you?

    http://cgi.ebay.com/HS-HUGE-SOUTH-SE...QQcmdZViewItem

    WSS with silver and gemstones??? I'd have thought it looked more like good quality freshwater. It doesn't make sense.

    I was interested in some Akoyas from the same buyer, but I'm just not sure about the quality after seeing this.

    And I'm really skeptical this is Akoya. That's not the one I was after but peach Akoyas just seem really rare.

    http://cgi.ebay.com/HS-RARE-HUGE-AKO...QQcmdZViewItem
    Last edited by Raisondetre; 11-03-2007 at 10:49 PM.
    Aspiring ninja. Go Storm Shadow!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Manhattan Beach, CA
    Posts
    4,471

    Default

    They are not even freshwater. They are both fake. I would not recommend buying anything from that seller.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    144

    Default

    10mm akoya on a ring? Aren't those super rare and very expensive?! That would've been a clue right off the bat that the pearl is either a fake or a freshwater being guised as an akoya. Like Jeremy said, avoid this seller!
    ~Mandy
    A semi-serious beader with a newfound love for pearls

  4. #4
    Raisondetre's Avatar
    Raisondetre is offline Third-graft Pearl Senior Pearl-Guide.com Pearl Expert
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    972

    Default

    I thought it looked fishy. Man, it really is fleabay!
    Last edited by Raisondetre; 11-04-2007 at 01:47 AM.
    Aspiring ninja. Go Storm Shadow!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Manhattan Beach, CA
    Posts
    4,471

    Default

    I looked at some of the sellers other auctions. Very confusing... some of the pieces appear to be real - at least in the photos.

    I can give you one piece of advice. It is very, very rare to see fine South Sea pearls set on sterling with no-value stones - especially when the pieces are prefab and in Asia.

    I would avoid that seller as the two posted auctions are certainly fakes.

  6. #6
    Raisondetre's Avatar
    Raisondetre is offline Third-graft Pearl Senior Pearl-Guide.com Pearl Expert
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    972

    Default

    I was actually interested in the baroque Akoyas that seemed quite legit - those pieces set alarm bells ringing in my head. I'm no expert at appraisal but something just didn't seem right. Seeing that there is misrepresentation I'd rather not purchase from them at all.

    Here, found it.

    http://cgi.ebay.com/HS-9-X-10mm-BARO...QQcmdZViewItem

    I'm way too cautious about ebay.
    Aspiring ninja. Go Storm Shadow!

  7. #7
    Valeria101 Guest

    Default

    Those pictures look more like heavily blemished akoya then baroque...

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    397

    Default

    One thing I have noticed is that there are "some" sellers who are taking unauthorized pictures from dealer's websites, posting them on Ebay, and selling pieces that have completely different descriptions. For example, there was one seller in particular that took one of our Natural Pink Freshwater Bracelets and used it for their auction and had the description as Natural Pink Akoya Pearls. I have no idea what they were actually selling but I had them take it down. These are things that are important to watch out for!
    Amanda Raab
    Founder & CEO

    PurePearls.com
    Call: 1-800-762-0977
    www.purepearls.com/blog

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Victoria Canada, and Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    1,098

    Default

    just another crappy ebay seller
    Kevin Canning
    Pearls Of Joy
    www.PearlsOfJoy.com
    Twitter.com/PearlsOfJoycom
    FaceBook Fan Page
    1-800-451-1411
    Save 10% with promo code "pg"

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •