Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Mixing Pearls With Other Stones

I adore pearls but I'm getting bored of just knotting them on their own.

Does anyone have suggestions as to which stones go well with pearls?

Also, how do you deal with the hole size discrepancy? Almost all pearls have small holes, most stones do not.

And, do you put them on silk/nylon? Won't heavy beads weigh down pearl knotting silk?

Thanks! I am new to this.

First-graft Pearl Senior Guide Member ericw's Avatar

I don't make necklaces or straps myself, but I think the first you must consider is that many stones are harder than pearls, so, rub between them can damage pearls if you don't put any spacers, even small. That particularly if the hole of stones is larger than the one of pearls, then, rub is important. That's a technical note, for the rest, there is a team of experts, here

Pearl Enthusiast Senior Pearl-Guide.com Pearl Expert Pearl Dreams's Avatar

Check out Beadalon products for coated beading wire and silicone bumpers.

Silicone bumpers come in different colors and sizes and protect the pearls from rubbing against each other or against stones.
    Some people use metal beads as spacers, but they can leave tarnish on the pearls.
    https://www.beadalon.com/products/beadbumper.asp

Beading wire is good for use with stones. The rough edges of the stones at the drill holes can cut right through thread.
    It comes in different gauges/thicknesses. You may need very fine wire for your beads.

Buy the highest-ply wire you can in the size you need-- the higher the ply, the more flexible. Beadalon wire 49 ply is very flexible but may be too thick for the drill holes in your beads. I have used Soft Touch (by Soft Flex) for very small holes-- fine gauge and very flexible.