| Pearl-Guide.com |
| The Forum |
| About Us |
| News and Events |
| Cultured Pearls |
| Cultured Pearls |
| Saltwater Pearls |
| Freshwater Pearls |
| Akoya Pearls |
| Tahitian Pearls |
| South Sea Pearls |
| Cortez Pearls |
| Keshi Pearls |
| Mabe Pearls |
| Natural Pearls |
| Natural Pearls |
| Conch Pearls |
| Melo Melo Pearls |
| Abalone Pearls |
| Scallop Pearls |
| Pearls in History |
| History of Pearls |
| Pearl History Timeline |
| Famous Pearls |
| Kokichi Mikimoto |
| Pearls and Medicine |
| Pearls in Myth |
| Pearl Cultivation |
| Pearl Producing Mollusks |
| Pearl Farming |
| Pearl Nucleus |
| Pearl Harvest |
| Pearl Treatments |
| Pearl Care & Grading |
| The Pearl Necklace |
| Caring for Pearls |
| Grading Pearls |
| Pearl-Guide FAQ |
| Glossary of Terms |
| Forum Rules and Policies |
| Contact Us |
| |||
| Hello I´m trying to buy pearl earrings I have seen online stores announced in the blog, but they are in USA and maybe I have problems with customs. I have seen the following article but I don´t know if I can trust if is authentic Do you think is a reasonable price? http://cgi.ebay.com/AAA-14K-585-WHIT...QQcmdZViewItem Thanks in advance |
| Sponsored Links |
| |
| |||
| I doubt the picture is of the actual pearls they are selling. Some (if not all) of the pictures are stolen from various sites. Take for instance the picture near the bottom right of the auction, of 3 various colored pearls. It is stolen directly from the earrings page on American Pearl. http://www.americanpearl.com/earrings.html Also, AAA+ is widely considered a fictitious grade. |
| ||||
| Hi Rose, I don't know anything about that particular ebay seller, but some of his feedback on another style earring is bad. And Terry is right, you are seeing a stock photo, not his actual pearls. It is a bad sign that he is using others' photos to sell his goods. You probably can get some AAA earrings from one of the online sellers here for about $200+ shipping--not sure how much duty on something like that. And that is an excellent value in top Akoya! Good luck! Pattye so many pearls, so little time p.s. Remember the saying, "If it's too good to be true, it probably is!?" |
| ||||
| Hmmm, Terry and Pattye are better detectives than I.... I would be very reluctant to buy from a seller who steals other's photos. I wonder what else he /she is dishonest about...... If Rose is in the U.K. and the items are in Germany, there will be no duty. For us in the U.K., import duties from countries outside the E.U. work out at about 30-40% of the item value, if the value is over 18 GB pounds, which is around 37 or so US dollars. |
| ||||
| Glad you caught that, Terry. I noticed it right off. You'd think if someone was going to steal pics, they'd use pics that aren't so obvious.
__________________ Pretty Panda pic by nlerner on her U.S. excursion last year, San Diego Zoo.[/size][/size] |
| ||||
| It does not appear as if this seller limits stealing to item photos. Check the similarities here! http://cgi.ebay.com/AAA-14K-585-WHIT...QQcmdZViewItem http://www.bluenile.com/ I would not be surprised if the pearls turn out to be lifeless button fresh or fake all together.
__________________ Jeremy Shepherd President and Founder PearlParadise.com, Inc. The PearlParadise.com Channel |
| |||
| Thanks to all I would prefer to buy in Europe just because of the duties. Yes, I see that there are the same images from different vendors. I can´t guess who is the original ones from.Maybe is from none of them....Excuse me but I´m a novice. Do you know where to buy freshadama or akoya white silver pearl earrings, here in Europe in a reliable shop? Kisses |
| ||||
| Hi Rose, Try edelkontor.de, selectraders.com, aperlea.de, or netperles.com.
__________________ Jeremy Shepherd President and Founder PearlParadise.com, Inc. The PearlParadise.com Channel |
| ||||
| I just went back with more time today to actually examine the pearls this seller has on offer. It was difficult to gauge the validity of the seller by only looking at the photos that are clearly stolen, which account for every "professional" shot on all the listed items. But after viewing the seller's auctions again I thought it important enough to revisit this thread. I don't think any of us commented on anything other than the stolen pictures. But looking at the photos that go with the uniquely listed items, it is clear that the seller cannot be trusted and the 'akoya' earrings or strands will not be akoya, or look anything like the pictures. Supposed South Sea pearls These are clearly freshwater pearls... South Sea Pearl Earrings Again, freshwater pearls... Black akoya pearls These are dyed freshwater pearls... Lilac color akoya pearls, supposedly from Japan These are lavender freshwater pearls from China... Huge strand of South Sea cultured pearls Very low-quality freshwater pearls... Tahitian cultured pearls These are treated, peeling freshwater pearls. This is the worst strand of all as even beading grade would be a stretch...
__________________ Jeremy Shepherd President and Founder PearlParadise.com, Inc. The PearlParadise.com Channel |
| ||||
| Whoa Those are some really bad looking "Tahitians"! I wonder how long a strand of pearls that bad off can last before crumbling into dust... At least whomever purchases them will have only done so for 24.99.
__________________ Ashley McNamara Sales Manager PurePearls.com (800)762-0977 http://www.purepearls.com |
| ||||
| And what would you say about this? I saw it on http://www.luna-pearls.de/, don't know anything about the shop, although it sells on e-bay too. This collier stands as 10,2-14,8 baroque FW , looks to me bleached but is pretty big and fat, which is a bonus. If of course the picture shows it correctly. Olga |
| Sponsored Links |
| |