Pearl-Guide.com - Cultured Pearl information and Pearl Forums

Google Custom Search
Pearl-Guide.com
The Forum
About Us
News and Events
Cultured Pearls
Cultured Pearls
Saltwater Pearls
Freshwater Pearls
Akoya Pearls
Tahitian Pearls
South Sea Pearls
Cortez Pearls
Keshi Pearls
Mabe Pearls
Natural Pearls
Natural Pearls
Conch Pearls
Melo Melo Pearls
Abalone Pearls
Scallop Pearls
Pearls in History
History of Pearls
Pearl History Timeline
Famous Pearls
Kokichi Mikimoto
Pearls and Medicine
Pearls in Myth
Pearl Cultivation
Pearl Producing Mollusks
Pearl Farming
Pearl Nucleus
Pearl Harvest
Pearl Treatments
Pearl Care & Grading
The Pearl Necklace
Caring for Pearls
Grading Pearls
Pearl-Guide FAQ
Glossary of Terms
Forum Rules and Policies
Contact Us

Does this look SS to you?

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 11-03-2007, 10:39 PM
Raisondetre's Avatar
Raisondetre Raisondetre is offline
Second-graft Pearl
Senior Guide Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 755
http://cgi.ebay.com/HS-HUGE-SOUTH-SE...QQcmdZViewItem

WSS with silver and gemstones??? I'd have thought it looked more like good quality freshwater. It doesn't make sense.

I was interested in some Akoyas from the same buyer, but I'm just not sure about the quality after seeing this.

And I'm really skeptical this is Akoya. That's not the one I was after but peach Akoyas just seem really rare.

http://cgi.ebay.com/HS-RARE-HUGE-AKO...QQcmdZViewItem
__________________
Definitely going to HKIJS 2009.

Upset about getting two left shoes in the mail ...

Last edited by Raisondetre; 11-03-2007 at 10:49 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiGoogle Bookmark this Post!Share on FacebookStumble this Post!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 11-04-2007, 12:27 AM
jshepherd's Avatar
jshepherd jshepherd is offline
Super Moderator
Senior Pearl-Guide.com Pearl Expert
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Santa Monica, CA
Posts: 2,524
They are not even freshwater. They are both fake. I would not recommend buying anything from that seller.
__________________
Jeremy Shepherd
President and Founder
PearlParadise.com, Inc.
The PearlParadise.com Channel
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiGoogle Bookmark this Post!Share on FacebookStumble this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 11-04-2007, 01:22 AM
Mandy's Avatar
Mandy Mandy is offline
First-graft Pearl
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Colorado
Posts: 138
10mm akoya on a ring? Aren't those super rare and very expensive?! That would've been a clue right off the bat that the pearl is either a fake or a freshwater being guised as an akoya. Like Jeremy said, avoid this seller!
__________________
~Mandy
A semi-serious beader with a newfound love for pearls
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiGoogle Bookmark this Post!Share on FacebookStumble this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 11-04-2007, 01:39 AM
Raisondetre's Avatar
Raisondetre Raisondetre is offline
Second-graft Pearl
Senior Guide Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 755
I thought it looked fishy. Man, it really is fleabay!
__________________
Definitely going to HKIJS 2009.

Upset about getting two left shoes in the mail ...

Last edited by Raisondetre; 11-04-2007 at 01:47 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiGoogle Bookmark this Post!Share on FacebookStumble this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 11-04-2007, 01:57 AM
jshepherd's Avatar
jshepherd jshepherd is offline
Super Moderator
Senior Pearl-Guide.com Pearl Expert
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Santa Monica, CA
Posts: 2,524
I looked at some of the sellers other auctions. Very confusing... some of the pieces appear to be real - at least in the photos.

I can give you one piece of advice. It is very, very rare to see fine South Sea pearls set on sterling with no-value stones - especially when the pieces are prefab and in Asia.

I would avoid that seller as the two posted auctions are certainly fakes.
__________________
Jeremy Shepherd
President and Founder
PearlParadise.com, Inc.
The PearlParadise.com Channel
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiGoogle Bookmark this Post!Share on FacebookStumble this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 11-04-2007, 02:00 AM
Raisondetre's Avatar
Raisondetre Raisondetre is offline
Second-graft Pearl
Senior Guide Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 755
I was actually interested in the baroque Akoyas that seemed quite legit - those pieces set alarm bells ringing in my head. I'm no expert at appraisal but something just didn't seem right. Seeing that there is misrepresentation I'd rather not purchase from them at all.

Here, found it.

http://cgi.ebay.com/HS-9-X-10mm-BARO...QQcmdZViewItem

I'm way too cautious about ebay.
__________________
Definitely going to HKIJS 2009.

Upset about getting two left shoes in the mail ...
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiGoogle Bookmark this Post!Share on FacebookStumble this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 11-04-2007, 12:43 PM
Valeria101's Avatar
Valeria101 Valeria101 is offline
Third-graft Pearl
Senior Pearl-Guide.com Pearl Expert
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,706
Those pictures look more like heavily blemished akoya then baroque...
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiGoogle Bookmark this Post!Share on FacebookStumble this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 11-08-2007, 02:08 PM
purepearls purepearls is offline
Super Moderator
Senior Guide Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 403
One thing I have noticed is that there are "some" sellers who are taking unauthorized pictures from dealer's websites, posting them on Ebay, and selling pieces that have completely different descriptions. For example, there was one seller in particular that took one of our Natural Pink Freshwater Bracelets and used it for their auction and had the description as Natural Pink Akoya Pearls. I have no idea what they were actually selling but I had them take it down. These are things that are important to watch out for!
__________________
Amanda Raab
Founder & CEO

PurePearls.com
Call: 1-800-762-0977
www.purepearls.com/blog
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiGoogle Bookmark this Post!Share on FacebookStumble this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 11-08-2007, 05:12 PM
Kevin Canning's Avatar
Kevin Canning Kevin Canning is offline
Super Moderator
Senior Guide Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Victoria Canada, and Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 573
just another crappy ebay seller
__________________
Kevin Canning
President, Pearls Of Joy
www.PearlsOfJoy.com
1-800-451-1411
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiGoogle Bookmark this Post!Share on FacebookStumble this Post!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

All times are GMT. The time now is 06:22 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.1.0

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18