Pearl-Guide.com - Cultured Pearl information and Pearl Forums

Google Custom Search
Pearl-Guide.com
The Forum
About Us
News and Events
Cultured Pearls
Cultured Pearls
Saltwater Pearls
Freshwater Pearls
Akoya Pearls
Tahitian Pearls
South Sea Pearls
Cortez Pearls
Keshi Pearls
Mabe Pearls
Natural Pearls
Natural Pearls
Conch Pearls
Melo Melo Pearls
Abalone Pearls
Scallop Pearls
Pearls in History
History of Pearls
Pearl History Timeline
Famous Pearls
Kokichi Mikimoto
Pearls and Medicine
Pearls in Myth
Pearl Cultivation
Pearl Producing Mollusks
Pearl Farming
Pearl Nucleus
Pearl Harvest
Pearl Treatments
Pearl Care & Grading
The Pearl Necklace
Caring for Pearls
Grading Pearls
Pearl-Guide FAQ
Glossary of Terms
Forum Rules and Policies
Contact Us

Is this real and is it worth the price?

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 10-29-2007, 04:31 PM
PearlGalNY PearlGalNY is offline
New to the forum
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3
Hi -

I am hunting for a single golden pearl about 15MM and saw this on EBay. I am a bit hesitant because I found that these ebayers "stole" their description almost word for word from Americanpearl.com. BUT, the pearl looks nice and I wonder if you can tell me:

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...MEWA:IT&ih=017

A) Is this real looking?
B) Is this pearl accurately priced?
C) Have you ever bought from these ebayers?

Thanks so much!

Ann
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiGoogle Bookmark this Post!Share on FacebookStumble this Post!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 10-29-2007, 04:52 PM
Sheila Sheila is offline
Young Spat
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 36
Why don't you take a look at http://www.pearlparadise.com/detail.aspx?ID=184 ?
Pick the size you want from the list, and look at the price ($ 910 for a 15-16 mm golden south sea pearl).

And this is a seller you can really trust.

Sheila
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiGoogle Bookmark this Post!Share on FacebookStumble this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 10-29-2007, 05:24 PM
Kevin Canning's Avatar
Kevin Canning Kevin Canning is offline
Super Moderator
Senior Guide Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Victoria Canada, and Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 596
Well Ann,

Do you really trust an Ebay seller that steals their description from another company? If that is a true picture of the pearl, it is a nice one for sure but $3600 is way more then you need to spend.

I really surprises me when I hear people are willing to risk 4 figure price tags on an ebay purchase.

As Sheila said, PP is good - but any pearl dealer that is a active member on the forum here is going to be trustworthy.
__________________
Kevin Canning
President, Pearls Of Joy
www.PearlsOfJoy.com
1-800-451-1411
10% Off W/ Coupon Code:"pg"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiGoogle Bookmark this Post!Share on FacebookStumble this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 10-29-2007, 06:23 PM
Sueki's Avatar
Sueki Sueki is offline
Pearl Collector & Designer
Senior Guide Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: London, U.K.
Posts: 755
Hi PearlGalNY,

I agree with Sheila that you would do much better going with PearlParadise, from whom I have made several purchases.
And totally agree with Kevin's remarks, too.
And, if he has loose pearls, I can thoroughly recommend Pearls Of Joy, whom I have also purchased from.

Last edited by Sueki; 10-29-2007 at 07:22 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiGoogle Bookmark this Post!Share on FacebookStumble this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 10-29-2007, 08:11 PM
PearlGalNY PearlGalNY is offline
New to the forum
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3
Hi,

Is there a list of active vendors on this website? I dont know where to find it.

Thanks!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiGoogle Bookmark this Post!Share on FacebookStumble this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 10-29-2007, 10:08 PM
Admin Admin is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 66
Use the google search function on the forum. It searches the Web sites of members of this forum as well as this forum itself. It ignores Web sites that have received bad reviews as well (including eBay).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiGoogle Bookmark this Post!Share on FacebookStumble this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 10-30-2007, 02:17 PM
Sheila Sheila is offline
Young Spat
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin Canning
As Sheila said, PP is good - but any pearl dealer that is a active member on the forum here is going to be trustworthy.
Oops, I was just referring to PP because it was easy to compare their loose pearls with the pearl on the Ebay.
Next time I will name more of my favorite sellers, not just one.

Sheila
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiGoogle Bookmark this Post!Share on FacebookStumble this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 10-30-2007, 05:46 PM
Valeria101 Valeria101 is offline
Third-graft Pearl
Senior Pearl-Guide.com Pearl Expert
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,798
How can I know that picture if of the pearl you are going to receive, if the description isn't?

It doesn't take much to make something online feel bad.

If you line up the pictures of all loose golden pearls there, they look very, very similar. Size doesn't show in a picture unless there eis some reference object included (like a ruler or something). Which could be just because they use a super-sophisticated automated system or... if the pictures were somehow made to look alike. It seems that taking photos of pearls is hard. Many sellers do not... Just show sample images. The good ones recognize that. The others leave you wondering.

Besides, even if that was a wonderful picture and I knew it is of the right pearl, the thing is 3D and I can only see one side. Blemishes count.

So, if the pictures are questionable and the description taken from somewhere else. What should I be looking at?

It comes down to keeping fingers crossed for the return policy of the seller.

My 2c.

Last edited by Valeria101; 10-30-2007 at 05:55 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiGoogle Bookmark this Post!Share on FacebookStumble this Post!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:02 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.1.0

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18