Pearl-Guide.com - Cultured Pearl information and Pearl Forums

Google Custom Search
Pearl-Guide.com
The Forum
About Us
News and Events
Cultured Pearls
Cultured Pearls
Saltwater Pearls
Freshwater Pearls
Akoya Pearls
Tahitian Pearls
South Sea Pearls
Cortez Pearls
Keshi Pearls
Mabe Pearls
Natural Pearls
Natural Pearls
Conch Pearls
Melo Melo Pearls
Abalone Pearls
Scallop Pearls
Pearls in History
History of Pearls
Pearl History Timeline
Famous Pearls
Kokichi Mikimoto
Pearls and Medicine
Pearls in Myth
Pearl Cultivation
Pearl Producing Mollusks
Pearl Farming
Pearl Nucleus
Pearl Harvest
Pearl Treatments
Pearl Care & Grading
The Pearl Necklace
Caring for Pearls
Grading Pearls
Pearl-Guide FAQ
Glossary of Terms
Forum Rules and Policies
Contact Us

ebay listing of the day

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 10-16-2006, 01:27 AM
katkat katkat is offline
Young Spat
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 19
what do you think of this posting?
I wonder what people are thinking
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiGoogle Bookmark this Post!Share on FacebookStumble this Post!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 10-16-2006, 01:28 AM
katkat katkat is offline
Young Spat
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 19
http://cgi.ebay.ca/Tahitian-black-pe...QQcmdZViewItem
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiGoogle Bookmark this Post!Share on FacebookStumble this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 10-16-2006, 01:55 AM
jshepherd's Avatar
jshepherd jshepherd is online now
Super Moderator
Senior Pearl-Guide.com Pearl Expert
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Santa Monica, CA
Posts: 2,568
Not exactly a great deal, but better than most on eBay!

I've got one for you!
http://cgi.ebay.ca/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?...ype=osi_widget

GENUINE SEA AKOYA TAHITIAN BLACK/BLUE 17" PEARLS -14CT
AA +GENUINE PEARLS-$4150.00.TRUSTED PERTH SELLER 99.8%

It just happens to be a dyed freshwater strand. But in the description it is Japanese, it is Tahitian, and it is Akoya! But the box it comes with is classic Chinese pearl market stock.

Oh, and at 6mm you need to move that decimal up about 2 spaces to hit the true value.

The picture/banner that is of true Akoya is pulled directly from ThePearlOutlet.com. Do a right click on it and check properties. They are pulling it from another Site. They did not even have the smarts to just copy it and post it on their own.
__________________
Jeremy Shepherd
President and Founder
PearlParadise.com, Inc.
The PearlParadise.com Channel
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiGoogle Bookmark this Post!Share on FacebookStumble this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 10-16-2006, 03:33 AM
katkat katkat is offline
Young Spat
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 19
http://cgi.ebay.com/Genuine-Mallorca...QQcmdZViewItem

how about these? I buy from her regualrly. She does not usually deal in pearls, she does estates sales and the like. I am considering buying them for the 19.95. what do you think?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiGoogle Bookmark this Post!Share on FacebookStumble this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 10-16-2006, 03:35 AM
katkat katkat is offline
Young Spat
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 19
oh, now that I read about that, I am not so surer that its a good deal
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiGoogle Bookmark this Post!Share on FacebookStumble this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 10-16-2006, 03:55 AM
Zeide Erskine Zeide Erskine is offline
Second-graft Pearl
Senior Pearl-Guide.com Pearl Expert
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 969
Hi katkat,

Mallorca pearls are mystiquefied imitations. They are pretty and heavy and even collectible to some extent but fake they are.

Zeide
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiGoogle Bookmark this Post!Share on FacebookStumble this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 10-16-2006, 05:03 PM
boo's Avatar
boo boo is offline
First-graft Pearl
Senior Guide Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: central Indiana
Posts: 373
Jeremy

I have that exact same necklace, I just never realized that it was genuine "Tahitian Akoya". I overpaid for it, but I was much more uneducated than I am now, and I bought it at a fund-raiser sale for a local hospital, so at least the money went someplace worthwhile. What really burns me up about the listing is that the seller is a Powerseller who boasts about her feedback rating and refers to herself as a "Trusted Perth seller" in the banner of the listing. How many people get taken in by that sort of thing, assuming that they can have confidence in the feedback system? It's really sad.

Deb
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiGoogle Bookmark this Post!Share on FacebookStumble this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 10-16-2006, 07:41 PM
youngster's Avatar
youngster youngster is offline
First-graft Pearl
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Washington
Posts: 185
Hi Zeide,
I get the Gumps catalog and I laugh myself silly everytime I look at their pearl jewelry and what they are trying to sell these pieces for.

Laura
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiGoogle Bookmark this Post!Share on FacebookStumble this Post!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:41 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.1.0

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18