| Pearl-Guide.com |
| The Forum |
| About Us |
| News and Events |
| Cultured Pearls |
| Cultured Pearls |
| Saltwater Pearls |
| Freshwater Pearls |
| Akoya Pearls |
| Tahitian Pearls |
| South Sea Pearls |
| Cortez Pearls |
| Keshi Pearls |
| Mabe Pearls |
| Natural Pearls |
| Natural Pearls |
| Conch Pearls |
| Melo Melo Pearls |
| Abalone Pearls |
| Scallop Pearls |
| Pearls in History |
| History of Pearls |
| Pearl History Timeline |
| Famous Pearls |
| Kokichi Mikimoto |
| Pearls and Medicine |
| Pearls in Myth |
| Pearl Cultivation |
| Pearl Producing Mollusks |
| Pearl Farming |
| Pearl Nucleus |
| Pearl Harvest |
| Pearl Treatments |
| Pearl Care & Grading |
| The Pearl Necklace |
| Caring for Pearls |
| Grading Pearls |
| Pearl-Guide FAQ |
| Glossary of Terms |
| Forum Rules and Policies |
| Contact Us |
| |||
| think these could be naturals? i was watching this auction. did not bid though. http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...MEWA%3AIT&rd=1 |
| Sponsored Links |
| |
| |||
| Quote:
|
| |||
| Hi Lady Kemma & Mike, The bracelet looks to me like it originally constisted of all akoya PPBs some of which have worn out and been replaced with medium-low quality freshwater cultured pearls. Zeide |
| ||||
| If you check his list view, there also appear to be a couple of freshwater strands listed as #1 natural South Sea (pink), and #2 cultured pink. He may know antiques, but not pearls, and definitely not value.
__________________ Jeremy Shepherd President and Founder PearlParadise.com, Inc. The PearlParadise.com Channel |
| ||||
| Here are a couple of past auctions by the same seller which tell the story pretty well... http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...m=110025867230 http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...m=110033289817 http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...m=110034385469 (One of the worst! Some one really got taken on a low-grade black freshwater necklace. This one is serious fraud). http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...m=110036975352 (pic is bad, but sure looks like a cfwp necklace) http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...m=110037860955 (Another serious fraudulent case. Over $1000 for another low-grade freshwater) Not only would I say that the bracelet is not natural in the first mentioned auction, this pattern of deception and fraud cannot be accidental. I would really like to hear what that gem lab says. Sorry, even with 100% positive feedback rating, birdman993 appears to be nothing more than a thief - at least as his pearl auctions are concerned. Some poor winners were really taken to the cleaners. Again, I would love to hear what he has to say about this, but have we ever, even once had a dishonest eBay seller come here to defend their actions, I mean auctions?
__________________ Jeremy Shepherd President and Founder PearlParadise.com, Inc. The PearlParadise.com Channel Last edited by jshepherd; 10-05-2006 at 05:37 PM. |
| |||
| Hi Ana, I recently won this at auction for about €200.00. I still have to have the pearl tested but the gold is heavy 18k (assayed) and the pearl looks like a gem-grade 20grain (5ct, 9mm) slightly off-round Bahraini natural. Zeide |
| |||
| Hi Jeremy, Although I agree that the appraisals look uninformed, I have seen plenty of the likes from GIA graduate gemologists for bricks-and-mortar stores who either actually believed this or were in on the racket. A good example for this is the US$10,000.00 appraisal for my akoyas-in-law that I gave to Inge. Moreover, the necklaces do not look low-quality to me (as opposed to the cultured pearls in the bracelet) and not only were priced in line with the market as I have seen so far but maybe even conservative given the size of the cultured pearls. In short, although the buyers did not get South Sea pearls, they got someting qualitatively better for much less which is generally considered a good deal rather than a bad one. Afterall, if you are buying a pearl item declared as cultured that you have a reasonable suspicion of to be natural and it turns out that way, that's a good deal not a bad one even if the item was not declared factually. Since South Sea PPBs are brutally overpriced and nice, well-rounded freshwater cultured pearls are hard to find, these, too, were good deals. Zeide |
| ||||
| If this strand is 8.5-10mm, then I am 8'6". http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...m=110037860955 The strand is more likey 7.7-8.7mm. If you see the pearls near the fh clasp, it just does not work. $1000 for this necklace could (in my opinion) in no way be construed as a good deal. Although the strand is not of a terribly low quality, it is certainly not of fine quality. $1000 would be very high retail for this piece. $200 would be fair, and $50 would be hard to secure on an eBay auction with an honest description and valuation. eBay is not situated on a corner in Rodeo Drive. By lying about the piece and producing a fake lab report, the birdmann993 was able to get a bid of $1,026 for this strand! THAT makes this an exceptionally bad case fraud, and birdman993 an exceptionally bad case.
__________________ Jeremy Shepherd President and Founder PearlParadise.com, Inc. The PearlParadise.com Channel |
| |||
| Hi Jeremy, I agree that this one looked somewhat on the overpriced score. However the 11mm+ pinks were not at all bad and I've seen substantially higher prices for them even in less exalted retail locations than Rodeo Drive. Also, especially color-enhanced Tahitians have come far down in price so getting a freshwater dyed strand rather than Tahitian cultured PPBs of questionable color origin makes freshwater pearls a reasonable alternative and overall the better deal. Have you ever gone to a California department store and looked at the Tahitians they sell there. I think I once called the color something a goat would be ashamed to drop while others were definitely treated with peeling nacre much worse than even the lowest grade freshwaters. Buying jewelry is either an art or a taste decision. What I would never, ever rely on are appraisals and gem identifications prepared by a seller, retail or e-tail. Zeide |
| |||
| Quote:
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...ayphotohosting The phone # (813)801-9860 in the photo leads to Tampa Gem Laboratory, Inc. R. Fred Ingram 4032-B W. Kennedy Blvd. Tampa, FL 33609 although superpages.com lists their address as 3941 West Kennedy Boulevard, Tampa, FL 33609. Has anyone ever heard of http://www.jvclegal.org ? The Tampa Gem Laboratory is on their site: http://www.jvclegal.org/j_florida.html Quote:
So, who wants to make a phone call? |
| ||||
| Oh please, let me have the pleasure of making this phone call I will see if we cannot get the "appraiser" on the board.
__________________ Jeremy Shepherd President and Founder PearlParadise.com, Inc. The PearlParadise.com Channel |
| |||
| Quote:
I would call myself, but I think "Hi, I'm the owner of a multi-million-dollar pearl business" would sound a lot more impressive than "Hi, I'm Joe Schmoe."BTW, the jvclegal page above also lists 813-289-9819. Last edited by mikehrz; 10-05-2006 at 05:25 PM. |
| Sponsored Links |
| |