Pearl-Guide.com - Cultured Pearl information and Pearl Forums

Google Custom Search
Pearl-Guide.com
The Forum
About Us
News and Events
Cultured Pearls
Cultured Pearls
Saltwater Pearls
Freshwater Pearls
Akoya Pearls
Tahitian Pearls
South Sea Pearls
Cortez Pearls
Keshi Pearls
Mabe Pearls
Natural Pearls
Natural Pearls
Conch Pearls
Melo Melo Pearls
Abalone Pearls
Scallop Pearls
Pearls in History
History of Pearls
Pearl History Timeline
Famous Pearls
Kokichi Mikimoto
Pearls and Medicine
Pearls in Myth
Pearl Cultivation
Pearl Producing Mollusks
Pearl Farming
Pearl Nucleus
Pearl Harvest
Pearl Treatments
Pearl Care & Grading
The Pearl Necklace
Caring for Pearls
Grading Pearls
Pearl-Guide FAQ
Glossary of Terms
Forum Rules and Policies
Contact Us

Ivy Pearl - IvyPearl.com

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 01-23-2008, 05:33 PM
jshepherd's Avatar
jshepherd jshepherd is offline
Super Moderator
Senior Pearl-Guide.com Pearl Expert
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Santa Monica, CA
Posts: 2,518
I was browsing the web last night and I came upon an eBay-esque seller that has made the jump to the web! I recognized the photos immediately, of course, and as I browsed the site I found even some of our photos being used. The site is IvyPearl.com - the latest scam site.

Nearly all of the pictures on Ivy Pearl, except the poorly photographed pictures, are stolen from various Web sites around the Internet, most notably pearlsonly.com. In fact, almost all the pictures are stolen from Pearls Only.

What upsets me the most is this phrase used on every item page in the entire site!

Quote:
All pictures are taken from the actual item. What you see is what you will receive.
In Stock. Leaves our warehouse in 1-4 business days.
How can they be more dishonest than that? Stealing photos and then assuring customers they will get the exact strand in the photo!

They have a stolen picture from us of a South Sea strand of pearls which they are calling akoya - small akoya!
This one is a beauty!
(ivypearl.com/multicolor-freshwater-pearl-necklace-bracelet-p-43.html)
One of the few photos they took themselves. This supposed 7-8 mm freshwater pearl set... the pearls are fake. It is a set of shell pearls.

Since this is a new site and clearly a bogus operation I thought it deserved an early mention on Pearl-Guide.com. Hopefully people will research Ivy Pearl and find this site before they get scammed and actually make a purchase.

Shop IvyPearl.com at your own risk!!!
__________________
Jeremy Shepherd
President and Founder
PearlParadise.com, Inc.
The PearlParadise.com Channel
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiGoogle Bookmark this Post!Share on FacebookStumble this Post!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Sponsored Links
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

All times are GMT. The time now is 11:46 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.1.0

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18