PDA

View Full Version : Ahem--check these out . . . .



J Marcus
10-24-2008, 06:57 AM
Ve-e-e-e-r-r-y interesting.:rolleyes:

http://cgi.ebay.com/Estate-30-Inch-Tennessee-River-1920-s-Pearl-Necklace_W0QQitemZ220299586184QQcmdZViewItem?hash= item220299586184&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14&_trkparms=72%3A1205%7C66%3A2%7C65%3A12%7C39%3A1%7C 240%3A1318

Valeria101
10-24-2008, 11:43 AM
What do you make of them?

Miriam Reed
10-25-2008, 03:01 AM
In the close-up they look genuine. They seem to have good luster and some nice orient. The size isn't mentioned, but if there are 96 pearls in a 30 inch strand, it gives you a pretty good idea of their size. It looks like it could be a very nice strand. I wonder where they've been all these years if the write-up about them is true.

GemGeek
10-25-2008, 03:04 AM
I have lots of identical new Chinese freshwater culutred pearls, so I would be highly suspicious. :eek:

pattye
10-25-2008, 03:13 AM
Seems like the Tennessee River pearls were more flat--those look more like petal pearls------------

knotty panda
10-25-2008, 06:33 PM
The seller has a fairly active pearl trade. I would be inclined to trust their advertising. Were I truly interested, I would call.

danachit
10-26-2008, 12:19 PM
I'm a bit of a round-liker and don't really care for the bumpy natural shape, but the listing was impressive all the same. He seemed to really bend over backwards to convince the potential buyer of his integrity....I was almost expecting a listing of his mama's phone number so we could call her too!

Caitlin
10-27-2008, 02:04 AM
I couldn't find much about them. The web sites are all in classified pages- they do not have a web site. For some reason, I couldn't find their store either.

There have been reports that the Chinese are providing the stock- though I can't confirm or deny the truth of that- so it goes into my open bag of unproven statements. For that price, he could have had them certified and appraisedby reliable experts.

And only ONE photo of such a high priced item !!!????

Maybe Pearl-Man will come along and illuminate us -or Mikeyy.

Valeria101
10-27-2008, 02:38 AM
I couldn't find much about them. The web sites are all in classified pages- they do not have a web site. For some reason, I couldn't find their store either.



Peter Suchy Jewelers
1135 High Ridge Road
Stamford
CT 06905
Phone: (203) 327-0024

No website.


Anyone knows whether the Tennessee natural pearls and the cultured come from the same mollusk? The textures are so darn different... The pictures at Sucky inspired the question, although they aren't that clear and I'm not familiar enough with both types to tell :o

J Marcus
11-01-2008, 01:14 AM
Sorry--forgot to check back in for a while. What I think is that I wouldn't touch them with a ten foot pole without a GIA cert. They sure look like a lot of cultured fresh water pearls that I have handled and even sold over the years.