View Full Version : too good to be true?
la_corsetiere
04-03-2008, 07:35 AM
I know these must not be what it says they are, given the price (starting bid at .99), but what do the experts think???
Ebay item 200212021090, supposedly 8mm golden Australian SS pearl strand from pinctada maxima, not shell pearls.
Dyed FW or Akoya? Luster looks pretty metallic for SSP to me. Not to mention incredible color (and price...).
Raisondetre
04-03-2008, 07:43 AM
I don't think there are 8 mm GSS, unless it's keishi, which wouldn't typically be round. My bet is dyed FW. My mom got some which was made into costume jewellery. The color isn't as gaudy though.
jerin
04-03-2008, 09:17 AM
Sheri,
that must be dyed freshwaters! The colour is much too uniform for them to be natural coloured as well...
Nerida
04-03-2008, 09:56 AM
I agree - I think they are very ordinary freshwaters dyed a strange colour of goldy/orange. Not sure if you would want those in those fabulous pieces you make, Sheri!
la_corsetiere
04-03-2008, 04:16 PM
Thanks to you all for your feedback...you've confirmed my suspicions.
Satine De La Courcel
04-03-2008, 07:13 PM
I hate to say it But They look just like Dyed Fresh water pearls.
jshepherd
04-03-2008, 08:18 PM
Definitely dyed freshwater. Check out this seller's excellent Tahitian studs as well :p It makes you wonder if all of the seller's stones are fake as well.
http://cgi.ebay.com/Excellent-Black-Tahitian-Button-Pearl-Pair-for-earrings_W0QQitemZ200212022205QQihZ010QQcategoryZ3 6587QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem
Kevin Canning
04-03-2008, 08:28 PM
hey those aren't a bad buy Jeremy, as long as nobody bids over 99 cents :cool:
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.0 Copyright © 2013 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.